Books

15 Books I Want To Read in 2015

There are a lot of books I want to read next year. There are a lot of books I wanted to read this year but haven’t so I want to read them next year. Here is a list of books and book series I want to read next year. Note that they’re not books that are going to be released next year, they’re books I want to read next year. Most of them have been released for ages.
Wow I said next year a lot, didn’t I?

Without further ado, here is a list of 15 books and book series I want to read in 2015.
In backwards order of how excited I am to read them.

15. The Raven Cycle Series by Maggie Stiefvater

image

I’ve seen a lot of BookTube videos about this series and they all have nothing but good things to say about it. I’ve read the blurb and I really liked the sound of it. So hopefully I read this by then!

14. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

image

I’m not going to lie, one of the main reasons I was so drawn towards this book is because the author has the last name ‘Lockhart’. Like the useless professor in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The summary sounds interesting and I’m looking forward to reading it!

13. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green

image

Anything John Green writes, I just automatically want to read. I read the first two chapters in a book shop and I really wanted to buy it but I didn’t have the money then. Now I’m on a semi-hiatus from reading reasons for which I will later explain. But I liked this book a lot. And I really want to read it.

12. The Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

image

So this book series is set in the future where love is considered wrong and problem causing so when each person turns 16 (or 18 – I’m not sure about the age) they have to undergo this surgery which makes them kind of immune to love. The protagonist is a girl who falls in love just before she undergoes the operation and runs away, I think. This sounds like a very different concept for a dystopian novel so I was really drawn towards it. Sounds a lot like Uglies by Scott Westerfeld actually, and I really didn’t like that series but I like the sound of this one…

11. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

image

I don’t know what this book is about actually, never read the summary or the blurb. All I know that it is narrates by death and that it’s extremely sad. Carrie Hope Fletcher (YouTube: ItsWayPastMyBedTime) mentioned it in her favourite books video and since we have very similar taste in books, I really want to check this one out. 🙂

10. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

image

I’m not sure if these three are part of a series because as far as I know, each of them are separate books about different girls. But I do want to read this contemporary series. I only started reading contemporary novels this year and a lot of people have recommended these books so hopefully I will read them this year.
Can I also just add, these covers are gorgeous! Far far faaaar better than the previous ones!

9. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

image

I actually have this book but I never got around to reading it. Again, I have no clue what it’s about. I read the blurb when I picked it up ages ago so I don’t remember. It’s a love story of some sort I’m guessing because it’s by Rainbow Rowell. I loved Fangirl  so I think I’ll like this too!

8. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

image

I saw the Vampire Academy movie and I actually liked it even though it got some really horrible reviews. I didn’t think it was as bad as people were making it out to be. Ever since I saw it and learnt it was based on a book, I have wanted to read it. I like the concept of the three different vampires: the Moroi, the Strigoi and the dhampir. It seems really interesting and I do love my paranormal fantasies!
I have the first book and I will start it soon.

7. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

image

This book is about a girl whose best friend disappears but she leaves her friend a list of things to do. I guess she does them and meets people whilst doing them..? I don’t know much about it. A lot of people have recommended it to me since I want to read more contemporary. It also has some great reviews. If I like it, I’ll probably read Second Chance Summer as well.

6. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

image

I’ve read City of Bones and absolutely adored it. It’s such a great story and I just loved Jace. Then I was told that the last book of The Mortal Instruments spoils The Infernal Devices so I’m going to read that before continuing with this.

5. The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

image

As I just said, I loved City of Bones but I didn’t want this series to be spoiled so I’ll finish this one before continuing with The Mortal Instruments. A lot of people also say that this trilogy is better than The Mortal Instruments. I’ll get back to you on that one when I’m done with both. 😛

4. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

image

I started with the first book of the series some time ago but I didn’t complete it because I had to return it to the library. I loved whatever I read of it. It was funny, quirky and I loved the writing style. Hopefully I can finish off the series this year!

3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

image

I have heard so much about this series and it sounds just up my alley. Fairy tales and sci-fi? It seems like a great story and I think the last book in the series is coming out in 2015. Hopefully I can finish the rest of the series before it comes out!

2. Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

image

Yes I know it came out this year but I never got around to reading it because of my exams and tests and stuff. When I finally went to the shop, it was sold out. I considered buying it online but there too it was out of stock. So frustrating. I’m going to read this first thing after my finals. Someone already spoiled one part of it for me so I’m really annoyed but I still want to read it. And also re-read the entire series.

1. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

image

Ever since I heard about it, I have wanted to read this book! It sounds so cool. I read the first chapter on Amazon and I really liked it. I’m very much looking forward to reading this and also the next book in the series Miss Mayhem which is releasing sometime this year.

 

So there you have it, 15 books to read in 2015. I know a lot of them were book series so its actually 33 books. O.o
I actually had a goal of reading 50 books this year and I don’t know if I can meet it because I can’t read till April. I have some really important exams in March. And then I go to college. So I don’t know if I’ll even have time to read. Fun.

Maybe at the end of the year, I can make this list again – arranging the books in the order of my liking of them after reading.

Have any of you read any of these books? Did you like them? Leave me a comment telling me what you thought of them! And also tell me some books you want to read this year! Maybe I can add them too and read them if I have time. 🙂

 

Happy 2015! 🙂

4 thoughts on “15 Books I Want To Read in 2015

    1. I have the book! Just haven’t got around to reading it yet! I loved TID sooo much but i’ve only read City of Bones. I’ve been spoiled a little for City of Ashes so I want to finish the series before I’m spoiled for anything else. 😛

      Like

  1. Maggie Stiefvater is a fantastic author! I just recently finished her Shiver series. I love her writing style and am excited to read more of her work. I hadn’t heard much about the Raven Brothers so I’m stoked to see someone else is looking into reading it. You listed several books that I haven’t heard of before and that I’d love to add to my reading challenge for this year. I look forward to reading along with you this year! Happy Reading!

    Like

    1. Really? I heard about her quite recently. Have you read the Raven Brothers? I’ve heard such great things about it. If I like it, I’ll probably read Shiver as well. I read the blurbs of both books but I liked the Raven Brothers more which is why it’s on the list!
      I’m really happy you added to your reading challenges because of me! It gives me a lot of internal satisfaction that someone somewhere is reading my blog. Hopefully my quality and style of writing improves through the year too.
      I included a lot of Contemporary books because the few that I read this year, I thoroughly enjoyed. Contemporary just isn’t everybody’s cup of tea!

      Happy New Year, Tessa Bee! 🙂
      And have fun with your reading! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

