Books · Reviews · Uncategorized

Review: THE INFERNAL DEVICES TRILOGY by Cassandra Clare

image

HOLY GOD THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOK SERIES I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE.
This post contains no spoilers, don’t worry.

Rating: 5/5

The story starts off with our main character Tessa Gray coming to London from America to live with her brother after the unexpected death of her aunt. When she alights the ship, she is greeted by these two ladies who claim to be sent by her brother but kidnap her and take her to this abandoned building. Everyday, she is tortured by them and told to use her ability. At first she doesn’t understand what they mean but she is taught by them that she has this strange ability – she can transform into other people and break into their minds when she holds something that belonged to said person!
She’s astonished because she never knew she could do that! She’s then rescued from this abandoned building by a boy called William Herondale who claims to be a Shadowhunter, someone who kills demons. He takes her off to the Institution in London for Shadowhunters. There, she meets more shadowhunters and learns about their world. She is promised by the people at the Institution that they will help find her brother as long as she helps them with her ability.
They need to find this man called “The Magister” and have him killed. Or at least find out why he wreaks havoc and what is he trying to do.

I don’t want to give anything more away. Just read it. It’s so good.

Review:

I love this trilogy. This is a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments series. I read the first book of that series and then this one.

Since the book is set in the 1800s, I thought it’d be really boring and they’d all talk in a colloquial fashion. But I did really like it. The characters are quirky and funny and no, they speak quite normally. Will Herondale in particular, is my personal favourite character – he’s absolutely hilarious. I love how sarcastic he is. I also love Jem. He’s such a sweetheart.

The love triangle in this series is the most devastating thing ever. The epilogue in the last book Clockwork Princess is so beautiful and it’s the perfect end to the series. A lot of people don’t like it but I genuinely loved it.

The person who turns out to be the Magister is just so unexpected. I had my suspicions about who he was but I didn’t see him as the Magister!!

Since I read City of Bones first, I could draw some parallels with this series. Maybe after I finish that one I can do a comparison / TMI vs TID Kind of thing. I like how both series are set in the same Shadowhunter world – it’s so interesting to see this world grow.

The only criticism I have of this book is that I didn’t like how The Magister confrontation happened in Clockwork Princess. I expected something bigger and some more action and some drama like in the Battle of Hogwarts in Deathly Hallows. But I still liked how it ended.

Out of all the fantasy series I’ve read, this is definitely one of the absolute best! I’m so happy I read this and I recommend this to everyone. Through the entire series, I was just cry-laughing. I laughed out loud many times at the dialogue. The things they say, honestly. :’) I also cried a lot. Particularly during Clockwork Princess. That was probably my favourite.

I love this book series. I’m definitely going to re-read it soon. I recommend this to all fantasy lovers.

One thought on “Review: THE INFERNAL DEVICES TRILOGY by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

