Books · Discussion

Book Discussion: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I heard about it in this video. She describes it like it’s this really awesome book full of magic and kickassery. What else do you want in a book?!
This book was on top of my TBR since I heard about it so I was so ecstatic when one of my friends gifted it to me.

image

This cover is just so gorgeous. I can’t even.

Rating: 5/5

Goodreads summary:

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more. 

Review: (No spoilers)
This was a great start to my 2015 reading. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The writing style is so easy and readable; Harper Price is a fantastic narrator. Its a fantasy book but its written like a contemporary. It’s absolutely hilarious. There were so many parts where I laughed out loud.
The whole concept of the Paladin was very unique and different from any other YA fantasy I’ve ever read before. There are some parts of the book that are blatantly obvious to the reader to be traps but for some reason Harper and David don’t figure it out.
Overall, it’s a great read and a very quick read. You’ll be flying through the pages and I guarantee you will enjoy it.

Discussion (THIS HAS SPOILERS!!)
This book made me laugh till my stomach hurt and I barely ever laugh while reading. It’s so funny! I think I’ve mentioned that at least three times already. I loved it.

Harper Price I absolutely adored. I loved how she took the whole superpower situation so lightly. She didn’t freak out when she killed her history teacher, she accepted that she had super powers. Her testing out of the powers –  I died. It was so funny! She was more worried about who can tell her what to do with her powers (Professor X) and how while all super heroes get their powers through these crazy situations, hers was through a kiss from the janitor.

I loved how Harper and David’s relationship grew through the book. They started off with them having these snappy comments to a we-might-die-so-i-need-to-confirm-we-have-something kiss. The fact that they teased each other with words from the spelling bees from middle school is so cute. :’)

I thought Harper’s excuses for things were just impeccable. Of the many in the book my favourite was her lotion problems.

With books written in first person, I think it’s very important for the reader to be able to connect with the narrator and I did! My personality is very different from Harper’s who’s more prim and proper and a little bit bossy. But I still really loved reading about her. Ignoring the whole fantasy factor, she seemed like a very real person with a great personality and I would have loved to be friends with her!

I think this is a great book and I’m so excited to read more of Rachel Hawkins’ writing. She’s a great writer and I can’t wait to plunge into the world of the Hex Hall series by her!

Leave a Reply

