Books · Lists · Miscellaneous

Favourite Romantic Books : Valentine’s Day Special!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I am a sucker for a love story. Always have been, always will be. I’ve never fallen in love before (with a real person – in my head, I’m married to 12 different fictional boys :P) but I do love reading stories with a love plot. It doesn’t have to be the main theme, it can be a subplot. I love seeing how the romance unfolds and how it changes people for better or for worse. One of the main reasons I like love stories is that they’re usually very predictable. You know from the start who ends up with who – it’s the journey that’s important. But if a fantasy novel is predictable, I’d probably stab something.

Since it’s the day of love and whatnot, I thought I’d list my 10 favourite lovey dovey books! Note that although I love love stories, I don’t read a lot of them because fantasy will always be my favourite. So I the books mentioned below are kind of the only love stories I read, not just the best ones. πŸ˜›

#1: Anna and the French Kiss

image

…..or anything else by Stephanie Perkins. This book has the right amount of friendship, family, love and humor. It’s pretty perfect. And Etienne is the only short male protagonist ever. He’s also British.

#2: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

image

I have a love hate relationship with Jenny Han. I didn’t really like her Summer series but I absolutely loved this book.
It’s about a girl named Lara Jean who writes letters to the boys she loves to vent out her emotions and to finally move on from them. She keeps these letters in a hat box. One day she realises her hat box is empty. And a few of the boys come and ask her about the strange letter they received….

Who sent out the letters is very predictable but how the book goes is very different from what I thought it’d be like. It’s really cute and the characters are great. It ends at a cliffhanger though. Buuut a sequel is coming soon!!!

#3: Finding Cinderella

image

This is the only Colleen Hoover book that I’ve ever read and I loved it. It’s a novella but can be read as a stand alone. It’s really cutesy and I love it. I don’t know why I haven’t read anything else by her… I really should!!!

#4: An Offer You Can’t Refuse

image

What would you do if your boyfriend’s mother offers you Β£10,000 to break up with him? Find out what Lola Malone did in An Offer You Can’t Refuse!
This is one of my absolute favourite books! It’s hilarious, for one thing. The story isn’t what I expected it to be as it picks up 10 years after the protagonist Lola is confronted with this proposition. If you’re looking for a super loved up book with constant β€œI love you”s and proclamations of love, I don’t think you should read this but if you’re looking for a light hearted fun book about several different love stories, this is for you. Read it. You won’t regret it.

#5: The Fault in Our Stars

image

I’m sure you’ve read this already but it must be mentioned. It’s about two kids with cancer who fall in love. But it’s much much much more than that and only when you read it will you be able to understand that. I’m a big fan of John Green and this book is what introduced me to his writing. It’s a beautiful story with a wonderful message. It’s funny, it’s cutesy, yes it’s a bit sad and you’re probably going to cry for several hours (I know I did!) buuut it’s worth it because the book is lovely.

#6: If I Stay

image

This book is about a girl named Mia Hall who is unfortunate enough to have been in an accident. Her parents and her brother die. But she doesn’t. The book is told from her point of view and we realise she’s in this intermediate stage between life and death and has to choose whether she wants to stay or not.
Sounds a bit morbid but it’s not really. She recounts all her memories and the things she’s done with her family and her friends, her boyfriend Adam is particularly important. It’s wonderful. I love this book. It’s so beautifully written and it’s such a good story.

#7: Gingersnaps / Cherry Crush

image

Cathy Cassidy is a very special author for me. Her stories were like the transition from Enid Blyton and Harry Potter to the Young Adult genre for me. I love her stories – these two are my favourites.
Like all her stories, they’re both set in Britain and are told in first person – both love stories, both incredibly good. I recommend this to everyone till the age of about 15 or 16. If you’re any older you may find her writing a bit childish. It does cater to a younger audience but that doesn’t make it any less good!!

#8: My True Love Gave To Me

image

A collection of 12 winter themed love stories written by a variety of authors. It’s really good. I recommend to all Christmas lovers and all love story lovers. If you love both this book is perfect for you

#9: Happy Ever After

image

A collection of three stories – all three are modern retellings of fairy tales – Rapunzel, Sleeping Beauty and Snow White. I particularly liked the Snow White retelling.
All three are really nice stories. One thing I really like is that the three girls are best friends so we keep seeing them in all of the stories. The Rapunzel retelling is the most lovey and romantic but they all have their moments.

#10: The DUFF

image

I’m not done with this book yet but I love it so far. I’m currently on the Valentine’s Day chapter so I thought this would be appropriate. It’s about a girl who is called β€œthe DUFF,” ie, Designated Ugly Fat Friend by the school’s man-whore. He thinks talking to her will make her two friends like him. In a strange turn of events, she’s the one who sleeps with him. Throw in an ex-boyfriend who was cheating on you, some parent problems and some friend problems and you have yourself a perfectly functional young adult contemporary!

That’s all for this book list! What are your favourite romance novels?

4 thoughts on “Favourite Romantic Books : Valentine’s Day Special!

  1. OMG! This is the first post I have seen on your blog and I love it! I read ONLY young adult novels and so many of them were familiar. I remember reading Marshmallow Skye (is that the correct title?) by Cathy Cassidy and I enjoyed it sooo much! I really want to read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and I have read the sample, but I have mixed feelings about it. If you don’t mind being asked, what is your honest rating of the book?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there’s a whole Chocolate Box Girls series by Cathy Cassidy (I’m not too sure though!). I liked Marshmallow Skye too!!

      I read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before because I liked the blurb. I’m pretty sure you’ll figure out who stole the letters but even if you don’t, that’s okay because the plot doesn’t revolve around the letters. I’d give this book a 4 out of 5. Only because the main character is a little annoying sometimes and where the book cuts off is so frustrating. I needed more!! Thank God there’s a sequel. πŸ˜› It’s really cute and funny. If you like Cathy Cassidy, I’m sure you’ll enjoy this πŸ™‚

      If you do read it, let me know if you like it or not! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

