Books · Lists · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books For Readers Who Like _________.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. Today’s topic is Top Ten Books For Readers Who Like __________.
I’ve chosen to fill in the blank with Sarcastic / Hilarious Characters! I love when characters in books are funny and make me laugh. So here is a list of my top ten favourite books with characters who made me laugh. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

1. The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare
William Herondale is amazing. He has a great sense of humour.

Some of my favourite of his quotes are:
image

image

2. The Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead
Rose Hathaway is sassy and the things she says are pure gold.
Adrian Ivashkov also never failed to amuse me.

3. The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart
Ruby Oliver is hilarious. Her way of describing her life and the people in it is brilliant. I’m in love with her narration and can’t wait to read the second book in the series.

4. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
Greg is a brilliant character. The book is written in a very stream of consciousness style which is great. He tries to make even very serious situations light hearted. I really enjoyed his description of the “social chain” at his high school. This is an excellent read.

5. Paper Towns by John Green
All the characters made me crack up – Ben, in particular, with his beer sword. One of my all time favourite books.

6. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
Harper Jane Price is a fantastic narrator and Rachel Hawkins is a fantastic writer. This book is brilliant. The characters are great. The dialogue is wonderful. I laughed out loud so many times whilst reading this.

7. The Tracy Beaker Trilogy by Jacqueline Wilson
I read this one as a child but it still doesn’t fail to amuse me. Tracy Beaker makes me double up with laughter with the things she says and does. Although it’s a children’s book, I think Tracy will appeal to a lot of different audiences. She’s hilarious!

8. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan
Percy is definitely one of the best narrators! He’s absolutely hilarious. I love his way of talking and his descriptions. I loved seeing him grow through the books as well. His narration becomes less childish as the series goes on, but it’s still fantastic.
In the spin off series, Heroes of Olympus, Leo Valdez is great. He’s rambunctious and loud and I love him.

9. Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series by Jeff Kinney
I really like Greg in this series. He’s full of self pity and love for himself but I love him. His outlook on the world and the people in his life is fantastic. I absolutely loved reading these books as a child.

10. The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Katy and Damon are great characters. They never fail to make me smile. A lot of this series is very serious but I love the jestful scenes. To be honest, this is on my list only because it needs to be ten things. xD Still, definitely worth a read!

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books For Readers Who Like _________.

  1. It was definitely the most perfect ending. To be honest, I was not a fan of Tessa’s character as she kept breaking hearts. But eventually I started liking her. I think I love the book mainly for its romance!! Amazing series! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. As a character, I loved Will. He was so funny and sarcastic and I love characters like that. I was a bit unsure about him at the end of Clockwork Angel but when we find out the reason for him being so mean to Tessa it just broke my heart.
      For Tessa, I just couldn’t pick who I’d like to get married to her. Will is brilliant but Jem was always so nice and sweet. I was SO happy with the epilogue and I just cried for ages!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, honestly, I can’t remember if there were spoilers to TID in the TMI, maybe this calls for a rereading. πŸ˜‰ And no! I actually haven’t watched the movie yet, I usually can’t bear to watch movie adaptions of books because my vision of characters usually gets ruined (except for HP, I love the cast, haha). And to be honest, Jace always made me think of Alex Pettyfer. I really loved him the movie Beastly. And A TELEVISION SHOW? WHAT? o.o

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hated it the movie. There’s a part where Clary sets the kitchen on fire to kill the demon and hides in the fridge. xD I picture most blonde haired male characters as Alex Pettyfer. πŸ˜› He was great in the Alex Rider movie too! I really didn’t like the guy who was cast as Jace for some reason.
      As far as movies based on books go, The Hunger Games movies and the Harry Potters are the only ones I like. They totally killed Percy Jackson in the movies! I still watch the movies based on books just to compare. πŸ˜‰
      YES A TV SHOW! πŸ˜€ I hope they don’t mess it up though!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. IN THE FRIDGE?! Wow, I’m pretty sure I’m not going to like it then. I’m usually against vulnerable protagonists, and I can’t bear to see Clary act dumber than I kind of thought she was (don’t get me wrong I actually still liked her). And I LOVED THOSE!! Then again, I actually watched a couple HP films before reading them, so that could be why I see Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson in my mind when I read them. And I haven’t seen Percy Jackson! I’m excited to see how that goes then! Honestly I don’t know what actor would fit Percy, my image of him has always been the animated guy on that old cover. πŸ˜› …but speaking of movie adaptations…. Even though it’s not fantasy, what do you think of Pride and Prejudice? I love that book and movie adaptations as well!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Logan Lerman as Percy was quite close to what I pictured Percy to look like, so I didn’t mind. But the rest of the characters and even Camp Half Blood were so different from what I pictured!! I really liked Clary in City of Bones. She wasn’t the smartest of characters but she definitely wasn’t someone who would hide in the fridge. The movie was really, really bad compared to the book.
        I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice! Or seen the movie. I don’t read a lot of classics but I was planning to read some this year. I’ve heard great things about Mr. Darcy though! One of my friends keeps telling me about him and how he’s apparently the human embodiment of perfection. It’s quite annoying, really. I do plan on reading it sometime this year. Along with some other classics like Jane Eyre. πŸ™‚

        Like

      3. Logan Lerman as Percy was quite close to what I pictured Percy to look like, so I didn’t mind. But the rest of the characters and even Camp Half Blood were so different from what I pictured!! I really liked Clary in City of Bones. She wasn’t the smartest of characters but she definitely wasn’t someone who would hide in the fridge. The movie was really, really bad compared to the book.
        I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice! Or seen the movie. I don’t read a lot of classics but I was planning to read some this year. I’ve heard great things about Mr. Darcy though! One of my friends keeps telling me about him and how he’s apparently the human embodiment of perfection. It’s quite annoying, really. I do plan on reading it sometime this year. Along with some other classics like Jane Eyre. πŸ™‚ What’s your favourite classic?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hmm, I wouldn’t say Mr. Darcy is the epitome of perfection, he has his flaws. Yet, he has to be my favorite fictional character from the classics. I actually haven’t found anyone, fictional or real, to be perfect, but Benedict Cumberbatch is close to it for me, haha. And I think one of my all time favorite fictional characters would be Wes from Sarah Dessen’s The Truth About Forever. And, of course, I’m in love with Jace. XD I think you’ll like P&P and Jane Eyre though! Those were great, I also liked East of Eden by John Steinbeck A LOT (but that one has less romance and more about family issues). All the classics all seem to weave in social commentary though, so that makes them a bit dull for me. But lately I’ve been gravitating towards them, it could be because I had to read so many of them in high school. Wuthering Heights is pretty good, but a little overrated by some bookworms. I also loved A Little Princess when I was growing up. And I’d love to read Gone With the Wind sometime this year! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      5. A Little Princess was my absolute favourite book before I got into fantasy! I really enjoyed Gone With The Wind – its one of the only classics I really liked. Ah yes, Benedict Cumberbatch. I love him. I really like Wes a lot but Will will always be my favourite fictional character. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your recommendations of the classics!!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Haha I’ll let you live. πŸ˜‰ I was rooting for both of them actually, it was way too hard to choose. That’s why I adored the epilogue. For once, I really really loved the love triangle in a book. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m currently on a Bloodlines marathon actually. I’m on Indigo Spell. πŸ™‚ I really like it so far.
      I read City of Bones last year but didn’t continue the series because someone told me City of Heavenly Fire spoils Clockwork Princess. So now that I’m done with TID, i want to read TMI too. I love the Shadowhunter world that Cassandra Clare created!! πŸ˜€
      I think there’s going to be a TV show called Shadowhunters based on TMI – I hope that’s better than the movie! Have you seen the movie?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great idea for your list! I really love a great, sarcastic and funny character, making me laugh while I read! πŸ™‚ Paper towns is definitely a must in this list, I absolutely love Ben, he cracks me up too!
    I’ve read some books by E. Lockhart, but I didn’t read The boyfriend list. From what you’re saying, I think I’m going to check it out! πŸ˜€
    You can check out my list if you have some time : http://wp.me/p5pugy-8L πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely LOVED Ben! His beer sword cracked me up! I wonder how they are going to show it in the movie… My mental image of it is a bit strange πŸ˜‰
      The Boyfriend List is the only book by E. Lockhart that I’ve read. It’s hilarious! I’ve heard so much about We Were Liars and it’s super unexpected plot twist but that’s all I know about it. Have you read it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay, me too! I’m a bit scared of seeing it adapted on the big screen… I have a strange and unique mental image, too, ahah, I hope it’ll be done well πŸ™‚
        Aww, I really should read it, then, I’ll add it to my list! I read We were liars, yes, I was a little thrown off by the narration at first (it was my first E. Lockhart book), but I really liked it. It was intriguing from starting to end, and personnaly, I didn’t see this plot twist coming, it shook me up a bit! You should definitely try it, and we can discuss it later ! πŸ˜€

        Like

      2. I just got We Were Liars! I’m looking forward to reading it and discussing it with you. πŸ™‚ The only thing I’m worried about it is that since I know there’s a plot twist, I might be able to figure out what it is and then it won’t be as unexpected and shocking. But then again, if it is a massive plot twist like I heard, I probably won’t see it coming πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I just finished it. I DID NOT SEE THAT PLOT TWIST COMING. Though, thinking about it now, one of the kids did tell Cadence that they thought Cuddledown was haunted. Throughout the book I kept thinking Gat had maybe hurt Cadence somehow and Cadence just blocked it out of her mind but it was kind of the opposite. The writing took some time to get used to but once I got used to it, I quite liked it. The thing is, the E. Lockhart book I read before is really lighthearted and funny and this was so different. I really loved this book! But I don’t think it’s something I’d reread because 1. It was kind of creepy and 2. I don’t think you’ll get the full effect of the book if you read it a second time.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Aww, I’m so happy you liked it! You thought that, too? I really believed, for a while, that Gat hurted Cadence, too, and that’s why I was so thrown off by this plot twist!
        I took a little time to get used to the writing, too, but once I did, I found it as haunting as the story itself. Yes, you’re right, I don’t think you get the same effect if you read it a second time! πŸ™‚
        So so happy you enjoyed it, though, we should advice each other some books from time to time, would be awesome πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

