Books · Discussion · Reviews

Discussion: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

image

This is such a beautiful cover, I can’t even deal. *_*

Name: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Genre: Dystopia, Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 3.5/5

Summary:
I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior. 

Review:

I have mixed feelings about this book. I wasn’t expecting this to be a love story. Juliette can kill people with her touch, why would you write a love story about her?!

The writing of this book is very poetic and there’s a lot of purple prose. I skimmed through a lot of parts because I couldn’t bear to read through all the unnecessary descriptions. A lot of people seem to enjoy Tahereh Mafi’s descriptions so if you do, that’s great, it’s just not my cup of tea. She did a fantastic job with the world building and created a dysfunctional dystopia. The world she created is different from all the other dystopian books. She also strikes off a lot of things. Juliette will say something and then strike it out because she doesn’t want anyone to see it, I presume. The problem I had with this is that a lot of the times when she is having a conversation with someone, things are crossed off. Does that mean she said them and regretted them? Or that she thought about saying them but didn’t? It’s all so confusing!

One thing that bothered me was the lack of humour in this book. I like when characters are funny or sarcastic. Juliette and Adam were always so serious. Kenji provided a bit of comic relief but for some reason, I just didn’t like him very much. I didn’t trust him at all!

All said and done, I am tempted to read the next book, Unravel Me. Read on for the discussion, if you’ve read the book, it has spoilers!

Discussion:

The world in this book really really scared me. A world where art doesn’t exist! That’s terrible. Every generation is defined by it’s culture. Wiping off all forms of culture from the world would be disastrous! Even in the Hunger Games world, the Hunger Games occurs every year, they listen to music, they have some form of culture.

A lot of people who like this book seem to be on Team Warner. Why? He’s such a terrible character! He’s evil. I don’t know what happens in the next books but it must be something drastic since the antagonist seems to have become the love interest.

Juliette was a very weak character depending on Adam for everything. This is very ironic, considering the fact that people will literally die if she touches them. She’s also very boring, to be honest. The only reason I kept reading is because I was interested in the main story, not because of the protagonist.

Juliette and Adam’s love was very insta-lovey. They never spoke in school, how they fell in love with each other is beyond me. Their love is very obsessive. I don’t particularly care for the love plot, to be honest.

The ending was very unexpected and I didn’t see it coming. I like the idea of Juliette not being the only one with this power (or curse as she calls it).

What did you think of the book? Tell me in the comments!

13 thoughts on “Discussion: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

    1. Hahaha it’s pretty good actually! A lot of people say the later books are better. 🙂 READ IT FAST SO WE CAN DISCUSS xD

      The cover is so beautiful. All three of them. I don’t know what it is about having an eye on the cover that makes it look so captivating!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, so many books, so little time! Every reader’s problem! Have fun with the Divergent series (I didn’t like it much though…) And tell me what you thought! Apparently the Insurgent movie spoils Allegiant… I haven’t seen it so I can’t really tell.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh really? Aww man… Yes, I’ll give it a try and see what I think of it! 🙂 And I guess this means I should go ahead and complete the trilogy before watching Insurgent then, thanks for the heads up!

        Like

  1. What I really love in this series (and you’ll see if you get to the second book, which I advice you VERY much), is how we see the character grow. I found Juliet, like you, kind of weak in the first installment, and it bothered me a bit. We see her grow, change, embrace who she really is, and take matters into her hands, it’s refreshing, and I appreciated this very much. 🙂
    I didn’t read the novella, but I read the second book, and Warner is starting to grow on me, too. I didn’t see that happen, AT ALL, while reading the first book, so I can totally imagine how you don’t see it, either, but it will come, hopefully! 🙂
    I could talk about hours, but I’ll stop now, ahah. I really hope you let yourself be tempted by the second installment, it’s totally worth it ! 🙂

    Great review, and loving the discussion part of this post! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. A lot of people tell me that Juliette and Warner change an awful lot throughout the series. I don’t know if Warner will grow on me by Unravel Me (which I do plan on reading!) but I guess I’ll have to read it to find out. 🙂 I think I’ll read the novella which is from Warner’s POV just to understand him and his motives better.

      Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoy this series. I think a lot of your issues will go away as the series goes on. Juliette has a ton of character development and growth throughout the series. By the last book she’s hardly annoying at all haha. And Warner is one of my favorite characters ever. I recommend reading the novella between books 1 and 2 as it’s from his POV.

    Like

    1. I guess I’ll find out more as the books go on! Really? I loathed Warner in this book. I wasn’t planning on reading the novella but since it’s from his POV (I thought it would still be Juliette’s!) I’ll give it a go. I want to know why he’s so loved by everyone when he’s clearly the antagonist!! He must change an awful lot through the books.

      Thank you for your comment 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t love him after the first book either, but as the series went on I definitely liked him better. I don’t know if he really changes a lot, but the way Juliette perceives him. Plus we get insight into his motivations which help.

        Like

Leave a Reply

