Books · Reviews

Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern

Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern is an adult contemporary romance novel. I  haven’t read a lot of adult contemporary because I was under the impression that they’re too mature for my taste. I was pleasantly surprised with this book as I found the story as compelling as I do young adult. The book is told in a very unique format – the whole book consists of letters! Not just letters between the two main characters, Rosie and Alex but with their parents, their friends, their siblings. This unique writing style contributed greatly to the ambience of the book. The format of the book is what makes reading the book a lot faster because since everything is in the form of chats and messages and letters, you tend to read them faster.
The story starts with little Rosie inviting Alex to her 7th birthday party and continues on to when both Rosie and Alex turn 50. One of the many reasons I loved and hated this book is the long time span over which this book continued. I loved getting to know how the characters were faring and its great that since it’s such a long book, you get so much insight on all the side characters’ lives too. But at times I felt like the book was just dragging on and that Rosie and Alex should just get together already and make the story end.
The main reason for their romance failing was the fact that they both had terrible, terrible timing. This is one of those books where sometimes you just want to yell at the characters, “JUST TALK GODDAMNIT AND ALL YOUR PROBLEMS WILL BE SOLVED!” But of course, they don’t listen.
Rosie and Alex share a long history of being best friends before either of them started having feelings for the other so it was beautiful watching their friendship grow whilst they were teenagers into something none of them could ever fathom. There is no insta-love factor, their love is real and genuine and gets deeper without them realising.
I thought adult romances were very sappy, serious and boring but this book gave me a different perspective about it. There are a lot of hilarious moments. The maturity that Rosie and Alex portray is refreshing after all the whiny childish YA romances I read but I don’t know if it’s something I’d like to read more of – I kind of enjoy reading about whiny childish teenagers 😛 I am now interested in reading more from Cecilia Ahern.
The ending of this book was left as an open ending. I wasn’t the most pleased with it because I hate not knowing what happens when books end. In my head, Alex and Rosie are now together forever but who knows because Cecilia decided to keep it all to herself :\
It was an entertaining read which I thoroughly enjoyed. I’ll give it a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend to people looking for a romance read.

Leave a Reply

