Books · Lists

5 Books I Don’t Get.

As someone who is very easily pleased by books, it’s not often that I really dislike books. What’s more odd is when I dislike books which most people adore. This post is a cumulation of all the popular books I don’t understand and like.

1. The Maze Runner.

image

I really don’t like this book. I’ve read the whole series but I don’t get why it’s so popular. It’s boring, the characters are flat, the dialogue is irritating. I just could not like this book. Maybe the movie is better, I’ve heard good things but I haven’t seen it.

2. Fallen Crest High.

image

I picked this up because it has a GoodReads rating of 4.something which is pretty good but this is, quite certainly, the worst book I have read in my life. The writing is terrible. All the characters are so bitter and rude and their back stories do not justify their actions! I absolutely detested the main character because of the things she says and does to her friends and more importantly, how badly she treats her mother! I don’t understand this book at all.

3. Uglies.

image

This reminded me so much of TMR! The premise of the book is really good, very fascinating but I’m not sure I like the execution of it. There were lots of parts in the book which I didn’t understand. Mostly, nothing significant even happened, so it was really boring to read.

4. Looking For Alaska.

image

I’m a big fan of John Green’s work. I loved The Fault in Our Stars and adored Paper Towns, but this book I was always a bit iffy about. I liked most of the book but in the “after” section of the book, I stopped understanding what was going on. There is supposed to be a very profound message which readers get from this book but I fail to understand it. Maybe I’m too young to get it, but I’m not a big fan of this book, I really don’t like it.

5. Divergent.

image

Don’t kill me for saying this! I liked Divergent, I thought it was really good but when Insurgent came along, I started to feel a bit bored. There was too much happening and then there was nothing happening, it was all a bit crazy. But Allegiant, I think, was the worst of the lot. The start is quite nice but as the book progresses, it keeps getting worse and worse (to me, at least!). In the end, something very unexpected happens but I didn’t even care! I didn’t even care anymore about what happened to them. I really didn’t like them.

I’m sorry if I insulted any of your favourite books via this post! We’re all entitled to our own opinions and these were mine. Are there any popular books you don’t like? Tell me about them in the comments!

19 thoughts on “5 Books I Don’t Get.

      1. THANK GOD someone else understands me!
        All of my friends who’ve read it are like it’s amazing and it’s the best thing and I’m like….really?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t think I’ve heard of Fallen Crest High… It looks like a NA book though and I haven’t tried reading from that genre yet. I haven’t read TMR but judging from your opinion, the comments, and that it’s like the Uglies, I have a feeling I may not like it. I guess we’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fallen Crest High is NA! The shirtless guy on the cover reveals it, right? ๐Ÿ˜› It’s terrible! I struggled to finish it. Everyone is so annoying and mean and rude and bitter. Everyone just keeps cheating on each other and ugghhh it’s just weird. A lot of people seem to like it though, so maybe I’m just weird.
      Didn’t you like the Uglies? And do not read TMR, it’s terrible!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe, yeah, the shirtless guy really did give it away. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        And I read the Uglies when I was in late elementary school. So I may have not enjoyed the ya appeal then, but I do remember that some parts dragged and there was a lot of purple prose. I am a rereader, so I may try to read it again and see if I have another perspective. And too late with TMR… I already have the trilogy and prequel. Oh well.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same feelings as you had about the Uglies, it dragged on and on and on sometimes.
        Well, you might enjoy TMR, a lot of people do! I just fail to understand what’s to like…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Maze Runner and wasn’t that impressed. I decided not to continue with the series. I also tried Looking for Alaska and couldn’t make myself finish it. I did like The Fault in Our Stars, but mostly I find Green’s characters to be far too pretentious. One book that people LOVE that I don’t get is Throne of Glass. I really disliked that book and the main character and the love interests. I just don’t get it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just found LFA boring when Alaska wasn’t there anymore. It all went downhill from there.
      Well, I’m a big fan of John Green’s work but I do agree with you. Apart from in Paper Towns, his characters are a bit pretentious. Augustus Waters was especially so, but I loved TFIOS nonetheless.
      Well I haven’t read Throne of Glass so I can’t say much but a lotttt of people really enjoy it. The premise of the book intrigues me but I haven’t read it yet.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I do NOT recommend finishing the series, it’s not worth it!
      I read the books because I wanted to read them before watching the movie but they put me off the series completely.
      Have you seen the movies? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Great! ๐Ÿ˜€ I might check it out as well. I heard the Book 2 movie is coming out soon too!
        To be honest, I’ll just be watching for Dylan O’Brien ๐Ÿ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

