Books · Reviews

Review: The Water Travelers by Daniel Waltz

Name: The Water Travelers
Author: Daniel Waltz
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Rating: 3.5/5

Summary:

Adventure finds those who are brave enough to take the first step. 
  
Aaron never wanted to pursue kingship, but his care for the lives of his people forced him toward it. When his father, The King of Upitar, sends him on a quest to find a girl who was prophesied long ago to destroy their world, Aaron finds himself fighting the option of running away forever or fulfilling his destiny as the Heir of Upitar.   
  
By water traveling, a gift his people have that allows them to go back and forth between their world and Earth through water, Aaron starts this adventure with thousands of thoughts and questions racing around his head. 
  
While on his journey, he inadvertently meets the very girl he’s sent to kill, Madalyne Harper. Without knowing it’s her, an unlikely romance between the sarcastic and daring Madalyne Harper begins to flourish with the rebellious and curious, Prince Aaron Archien. As they grow closer, Aaron begins to learn of secrets within the Harper family regarding water travelers. Wanting to learn more, and wanting an excuse to hang out with Madi, Aaron continues to delay his original mission. As family problems and outside forces press down on them, Aaron and Madi soon find themselves running away together. 
  
Everything between them is great until Aaron learns the girl he has connected so well with is the same girl he’s going to have to kill… 

Review:

The Water Travelers is a fantasy novel written by author Daniel Waltz. Revolving around two main protagonists, Aaron of the Upitarian world and Madi of Earth. Aaron is sent to Earth to murder Madi but instead falls in love with her which, needless to say, slightly complicates matters. Both Aaron and Madi were a lot of fun to read about, especially Aaron trying to learn about the very normal Earth things like trains. Both were strong characters who were very easily likable. The love between Aaron and Madi was very instant, he just saw her and fell in love. This is highly unrealistic but then again, it is fiction. However, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t rooting for them all the way through (what can I say? I’m a sucker for romance!).
The premise of this book was very interesting, as soon as I read the summary I wanted to read the whole thing! The execution however wasn’t the best. The writing wasn’t great but at the same time it wasn’t terrible, it was easy to read with a few sentence structural issues here and there. But, I believe that if a story is good, the writing not being perfect is still acceptable. And holy god, was the story good! It took some time to pick up pace, starting a little bit dully, but it gained momentum soon enough. The story was gripping, keeping me hooked! The last couple of chapters especially, were brilliant, I couldn’t put it down, I just had to keep on going! The story took a very unexpected turn. The ending was just. Oh my gods. Wow. I was just like okay, what just happened.
The premise of the book was very different and original, I haven’t read anything like it before. Travelling through water was a very interesting concept and reading more about it was a lot of fun. A lot of fantasy series I read have similar elements when it comes to plot and setting but with this one, I felt like it was very unique. The Upitarian world was very cool, I really liked the scenes set in it. I loved the alternating between Upitar and Earth, seeing how both worlds were getting along.
Though the writing at some points, is a bit off, I think this is still a great book! Am I so hooked that I just have to read the next book or I will not be able to dela with myself? No, not really. But I do know that I will definitely be picking up the sequel sometime soon. I highly recommend to fantasy lovers, I think you will enjoy this one.
Thank you Daniel for sending me your book for review, it was a lot of fun to read! 🙂

One thought on “Review: The Water Travelers by Daniel Waltz

Leave a Reply

