Books · Reviews

Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Name: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Genre: Contemporary, Fiction
Rating: 5/5

This was my first ever Sophie Kinsella novel despite her amazing success with the Shopoholic series (seen the movie though, LOVED IT). I devoured this book. I loved it so so so much!

Finding Audrey has a very interesting concept. It’s about getting over something that broke you down completely and moving on with life. It reminds you that every second you spend not doing something that can help your life is a second wasted. I loved it. The story is very realistic and refreshing. There is no insta love, no dramatic revelations, no crazy over the top antics – it’s a very frank book.

The story is told from the main character, Audrey’s point of view. Her narrative is a lot of fun to read. A lot of the writing is also done in script format which is really great. The writing is easy and it’s a very quick read.

Audrey is such a lovely character, she’s very easy to like and easy to relate to. The book revolves around how a certain incident in her school or with her friends has completely traumatized her and just shattered her confidence which is why it’s hard for her to talk to new people and even to make eye contact, which is why she wears sunglasses almost all the time. The thing is, though she’s in such a terrible time she seems very normal. It’s only when she has to talk to anyone that isn’t her family does she freak. The “incident” in question is not revealed to the reader because it doesn’t matter! That, to me, was a very nice touch to the story. We don’t need to know what happened in the past because it doesn’t, in any way, affect  the present or the future. You don’t need to be defined by your past. Your present is the most important.

I really enjoyed the love plot in the story and how it was so cute and how he helped her get through her tough time. Though it’s a little bit cliché because in a lot of stories you meet a boy and his love helps you heal and whatnot. This book was different. The boy in question, Linus, genuinely helps Audrey heal and get better and it’s so heart warming and lovely.

The setting of this book is just absolutely fantastic. I loved the homely, family environment the book has. It’s a very positive environment. I loved Audrey’s mother and her obsession with making her brother Frank stop playing video games. It’s such a beautiful setting. I could picture that happening in several households! The family is a very important part of the story and they’re all very helpful and supportive to Audrey. It’s very heartwarming and very refreshing. Unlike most other other contemporaries where there are no parents, here they played a vital role. I absolutely loved it.

Finding Audrey is a wonderful, heart warming read which I definitely recommend to everyone. It’s a great pick me up. It’ll definitely get you through a reading block. It helped me through a time I was feeling kind of low and I hope it helps you as well.
Let me know what you thought of it in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

  1. I read this a few months ago and I loved it! I finished it in one sitting and when I was done it made me feel really happy, haha. Finding Audrey was my first Sophie Kinsella book, but I think I’ll buy more of her books from now!
    Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

