Books · Reviews

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

image

Name: The Wrath and the Dawn
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4.75/5

Most fantasy books these days are very cliché: a strong independent female protagonist, a villain, a love interest and a bunch of side characters with little significance. But what happens when the villain becomes the love interest? Find out in this book.

The Wrath and the Dawn has a very interesting concept. It’s about a king of this land who marries a girl everyday and by the next dawn, she is dead. Shahrzad’s, the protagonist’s, best friend Shiva was murdered in this fashion so Shahrzad volunteers as a bride in order to avenge her friend. It’s a very different and unique premise which is what drew me to the book, and I wasn’t disappointed.

The writing is fabulous, setting the scene of this land beautifully. Ahdieh gives some beautiful descriptions of places and people, making you fall in love with them. The setting of this book was beautiful. I loved how everyone addressed it each other. The king as ‘sayyidi’ and loved ones with the suffix ‘jan’. The story is wonderful, keeping me hooked from start to finish, I was never bored. This is a perfect combination of romance, drama, action, adventure all with an air of fantasy! For a first book in a series, it’s brilliant, piquing the interest of readers and keeping us hungry for more!

I loved the characters in this book. All of them. Every named character had a significant role in the story. The protagonist is very likable – blunt and honest, she’s a hell of a character. The sinning king, Khalid, who I initially thought was like one of those brooding bad boy types, surprised me in a very nice way. He is a wonderful character and I’m eagerly waiting for more! The side characters also have big personalities which shine through the book from time to time.

The ending of the book has left me so impatient for the next book! I hate cliffhangers! There are a lot of elements of this story that are yet to be resolved later in this series and I’m sure this is going to end up being a favourite of mine.

6 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

  1. For some reason I had the impression that this was a standalone until I read some other reviews, haha. I’m so happy you enjoyed this, Shotobhisha! YES, finally a likable protagonist; I’m really looking forward to reading it myself. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

