Miscellaneous · Ramble

“Should of ”

I have a question.

One of my friends us very into Wattpad at the moment, she’s writing her own story (I’m editing it!). She has recommended a few books to me and a lot of them have one thing in common: they use “should of” a lot. I didn’t understand what that meant initially. It took me some time to realise that meant should’ve or should have. I thought that was a typo but then in at least 3 of the 5 stories she recommended use should of instead of should have.

Is that a thing? Is should of grammatically correct? Is it an alternative to should have? Does it mean something else?

It just felt a little weird to read.

9 thoughts on ““Should of ”

  1. I study English and I’ve noticed such a phenomenon. I don’t think it’s correct. Maybe she’s trying to go for her own slang or something?

    Like

    1. Thats what I thought initially but it’s used in multiple stories as “should of” where substituting “should’ve” is grammatically correct. So yes, I think it’s should have but due to the phonetics or something it’s warped into should of.

      Like

  2. Interesting post! To me, it’s both. Haha. Well, when I talk to family or friends, I say ‘should of’ a lot. When I talk, I hardly use correct grammar 100% of the time. However, when I am writing, I say ‘should have or should’ve’ because it is grammatically correct. ‘Should of’ is not grammatically correct. If I believe correctly, the word ‘of’ is a preposition and cannot be a verb.

    Hope this helps!

    Like

    1. When you say it, should of and should’ve sound pretty much the same. Maybe thats why this misconception even occurred. But I saw it in a lot of places so I thought maybe it was a real thing haha 🙂

      Like

  3. Honestly, that is such a big pet peeve of mine. I mean, I won’t lie–I thought it was “should of” when I was younger, but the more I got into writing I realized that it’s “should have”. I guess it’s common, but the correct grammatical term is should have.

    Like

    1. YES! Thank the lord, I’m not the only one! I never knew “should of” was a thing until wattpad where it’s used everywhere. There are stories with millions of views which have it which is what made me question whether I was right or everyone else.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

