Books · Reviews

Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

image

3.75 stars (please don’t kill me)

Heir Of Fire by Sarah J Maas is third installment in the Throne of Glass series.

I struggled a little with this book. It wasn’t a bad book, it was very good, but I took a very long time to read it – I often felt myself feeling very bored. In fact, I read around 4 books while reading it to get me out of the slump I was in for the book.

The characters were as awesome as ever. Celaena was really badass as always, keeping up with her crazy adventures in Wendlyn was fun. Chaol’s role in the book wasn’t very big. He mostly just roamed around the castle looking for excuses to not go back to live with his parents. Dorian really shone in this book in my eyes. Though I was always Team Chaol and in general, liked Chaol more, this book changed that completely. I loved Dorian and I was so sad for him by the end of the book. He was finally happy and his father just took everything away from him.

We were also introduced to a bunch of new characters. Rowan, I liked, but there are a lot of people on Team Rowan which I don’t see as being a thing. Rowan seemed more like a brother or a good friend to Celaena, in my opinion. I loved all the characters Celaena had to live with in Wendlyn. Reading about her experiences in the kitchen was hilarious! We also met Sorscha, Dorian’s potential love interest, who was very sweet and I felt so happy for her and Dorian. But then the end of the book happened and that just broke my heart. We were also introduced to a completely new set of characters, the witches, who the king has hired to be his aerial army or something. A lot of the story is from a witch named Manon’s point of view. I didn’t like nor did I dislike her. She was just there. There seemed, to me, no real purpose for her to be in the story. The Manon chapters just made the book unnecessarily long. She will probably have a bigger role or some kind of major connection to Celaena in the later books but I still think we learnt more about her than we needed to.

There were parts of the story that I adored but as an overall book it just didn’t hit me with the same intensity as the others did. The start was slow, it started picking up pace only towards the end.

That being said, I loved how the story panned out in the end and I’m excited to read more in this series. Though this book was a little disappointing, I still have hopes for this series!

2 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

  1. Hey Shoto,
    I love your blog and your reviews. I’d love for you to review some of the books being published by Writing Piazza Press. Let me know if you’d be interested, you can email me at thewritingpiazza (at) gmail (dot) com. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

