Books · Reviews

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

image

5 stars

Holy mother of God. This was one hell of a book.
Cinder is a Cinderella retelling (as if you couldn’t tell from the name) set in the future. The Cinderella in the story is a cyborg – she’s half human and half robot with a prosthetic arm and leg.

I adored the setting in the future. Seeing the world that we know now in it’s altered state was a bit weird. With books like The Hunger Games and Divergent, that are also set in the future, I didn’t get the same feeling because both of them (and a lot more dystopian books) take place in America and we only see America in the future. In Cinder, the whole world is united and each book of the series, I’ve been told, happen in different parts of the world. The whole world seems to be this united family which is so weird because of how disunited we are right now!

The characters in this book were wonderful. I really enjoyed Cinder, as a person. She seemed like a less sad Cinderella which is awesome because Cinderella was always my least favourite. I loved the Prince and Dr. Erland. They were both awesome. Cinder’s family was not exactly like the one in Cinderella but I loved it, nonetheless. The antagonist of the story, Queen Levana, really fascinates me. I am looking forward to reading her story in Fairest. Also – SHE LIVES ON THE MOON. HOW DID SHE EVEN GET THERE? WHAT EVEN?

This book isn’t the most fast paced because of all the world building that occurs but from the middle of the story, when it does pick up pace, it’s brilliant! Action packed and incredible. The biggest plot twist or suspense, you could say, in the story, was about Princess Selene and would we find out who she is. Since I’m keeping this non spoilery, I’m not going to say who it is, but I am going to say that it was very predictable. That was probably the only disappointing part of the story – the fact that I guessed the suspense.

Overall, it’s an amazing book with impeccable writing and I highly recommend! I loved it and hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

6 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

    1. I loved that it wasn’t like the other dystopian worlds which only focused on the place the story took place. We saw (kind of) how the entire world was doing and their political system and it was just really fascinating 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

