Books · Lists · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. For further details, check out their blog!

When books turn to movies, they usually get worse. The movie people don’t stick to the storyline or mess up with the dialogue and make the characters really stupid (*cough* Percy Jackson *cough*) but even then, I line up to see movies based off of books because I think, maybe this time, they’ll finally get it right.

Here I present, some book to movie adaptations that I enjoyed watching.

1. The Fault in Our Stars

image

It didn’t hit me like the book did and I didn’t cry, but I did like this movie.

2. Catching Fire

image

Holy cow, this was my favourite movie of the series. It was exactly how I pictured it, like the director took a chunk out of my brain and put it on the screen. Just. Wow.

3. Matilda

image

I was really young when I saw the movie but I really loved it, it’s also a little different from the original book but I love it anyway!

4. The Duff
The Duff didn’t stay true to the story at all, and completely messed up the storyline but it worked, for once.

5. Vampire Academy

image

A lot of people hated this movie which is why it got cancelled and has no sequel but I did kind of enjoy it.. There are worse movies. I think it was just that there had to be so much world building and character development that the movie watcher can’t understand via movie. I’m crossing my fingers for this coming back to life in TV show form like The Mortal Instruments (the City of Bones movie was terrible)

6. Alex Rider
Another pretty good movie that didn’t get a sequel! I thoroughly enjoyed this one. I wish they made the rest of the books into movies too. Also, Alex Pettyfer is in it. *swoon*

7. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
This movie was brilliant. The acting was so on point. Harry was so sassy under the effects of Felix Felicis and I just loved it.

8. If I Stay

image

I really loved the movie. It’s a little different from the book, Mia is a lot more dependent on her boyfriend but I still enjoyed watching it and it made me cry very much.

Book to movie adaptations I’m looking forward to watching:

9. Paper Towns
I loved the book. I really want to watch the movie!

10. Mockingjay Part 2
THIS IS MY MOST ANTICIPATED MOVIE OF THE YEAR AND IT’S ALMOST HERE OHMYGOD I AM HYPERVENTILATING.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations

    1. The Book Thief has been on my TBR list since forever but I still haven’t gotten to reading it or watching the movie. I want to read the book first of course. Hope you enjoy the tfios movie πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. The book had a profound effect on my entire perspective of the world, I cried for absolute ages! I guess my tears dried up by the time I saw the film haha. A lot of people seem to have forgotten Matilda! (Does that mean I’m too childish? :P)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Catching Fire is my favorite book to movie adaptation. It was wonderful and just beyond perfect. I also love Matilda, but I haven’t read the book…though I may someday. DUFF definitely changed from the book and that was a little upsetting to me, but the movie was still good πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. DUFF is such a mature story which is probably why they didn’t stick to the storyline. Catching Fire is wonderful, I get chills whenever I watch it. Hope you enjoy Matilda, the book. It’s a little different πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I CANT WAIT FOR MOCKINGJAY EITHER!!!! I’m so excited and well, scared to see it, too, because I’m going to cry haha!
    Love all of your other choices, and I agree with you, I’m always so scared they will ruin the book by making a bad movie. There are some movies that are okay, though πŸ™‚ I still need to watch if I stay πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mockingjay part 2!!! It’s so soon I am not ready for the series to end! D: no more JLaw. I liked the If I Stay movie but a lot of people didn’t haha. I hope you enjoy it! πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

