Books · Reviews

Wherever Nina Lies by Lynn Weingarten

image
I really love this cover!

2.75 stars

In a recent post of mine called Underrated Books, I mentioned Wherever Nina Lies. I first read it three years ago and so, it’s been a while. I was looking for something to read so I thought what the hell? Let’s reread it.

I remembered most of the story and also that I really enjoyed it but this time around, I did not like it at all.

The writing is not the best, there are several grammatical errors, too many commas and overly long sentences. The descriptions are very ambiguous. Some may like it that way, leaving more to the imagination, but I like picturing a place, like the author describes in my head.

The story was what impressed me earlier but this time, it felt very bland and boring. A part of it may be because this was a reread but mostly, it just didn’t make sense. Yes, I understand this is a story and all it’s happenings are purely fictional but everything that happened was just so random and a majority of the book was just based on chance. This is supposed to be realistic fiction, but it wasn’t. Which mother, perfectly normal, non alcoholic, non drug addict, perfectly normal mother does not notice the fact that her daughter is missing? And when she does notice, does nothing to find her? The story is very, very messed up.

The book seemed to me to be something that was trying to be like Speak by Laurie Hals Anderson, which is a beautiful story about how it’s okay to say no and that people will always be there to help you. Except here the message was either a) don’t go across the countries with strangers because they may end up being psychopaths who want to kill your sister or b) don’t lead  on your boyfriend’s brother because he may end up being a psychopath. I don’t know.

All that being said, there were parts of the story that I really loved, like when they roadtripped to see a band and the random flashbacks of Nina. Those really redeemed the book in my eyes. The incident with the Jamies was hilarious. The dialogue had it’s moments. Some parts of the book I liked, but the main plot? Not so much…

I don’t know why I liked this earlier but I do not have the same feelings anymore. I give it a 2.75 stars at max because I didn’t hate it but I didn’t like it very much either. Very meh.

image

Leave a Reply

