Tags

2016 Resolutions

Happy new year everyone!
This is a bit late, I know but it’s still January so making resolution posts is still allowed okay?

I was tagged by Summer @ Xingsings (thank you, you’re the best! :D) to do a post about my 2016 resolutions, so here we go!

Bookish Resolutions

  • In 2015, I read A LOT of books. I lost track by about March. I’m pretty sure I finished my Goodreads 100 book goal before half the year got over. While that’s pretty awesome, I read so much so fast that a lot of the books and the characters and the plots got messed up in my head. This year, I want to read less books but read more thoroughly and enjoy each page of each book and not force myself through anything. I may reread some books I read last year because I’ve forgotten what happens in them! So I’ve set my Goodreads goal is 50 which is as good as any. 🙂
  • I want to read more non fiction. I’ve always thought it to be boring, but over 2015 I learnt about a lot of really interesting non fiction that I really want to get around to reading sometime.
  • The thing I want to do most this year is to read more physical books! Through 2015, 80% of the books I read were e-books and that isn’t healthy for my eyes so I want to get around to reading more physical books (but they’re so expensive! 😦)
  • Try to get ARCs. Until mid 2015, I didn’t even know what these were. I always thought publishers scrounged the net looking for the best blogs and sent them books to review. I didn’t know about NetGalley or anything! This year, I wanna figure out how the whole ARC thing works and my goal is to get at least one by the end of the year. 🙂

Blogging Resolutions

  • BLOG MORE! I often went weeks without updating, which is something I want to do less of this year.
  • Review every book. That’s right. Every single book I read will be reviewed. Hopefully.
  • Do the tags and awards I’m mentioned in. I really like it when I’m tagged anywhere and honestly, I do mean to do them! But I forget, or I procrastinate it. So this year, I’m going to make sure I finish all the tags and awards before it’s too late.
  • Do more memes. I love Top Ten Tuesdays and over this year, I want to do other memes like it! 🙂
  • I started a second blog, about my life and things I’m interested in that aren’t books. I hope to post more there!
  • Customize and make both this and my life blog look better visually.
  • To follow more blogs and talk to more people from the blogosphere! I really want to find more people and make more friends this year 🙂 I honestly don’t follow enough blogs so my feed is mostly the same bloggers again and again.

Academic Resolutions

  • To be more focused on my academic work.
  • To figure out what I want to do with my life.
  • To write all the exams possible so that I get in at least somewhere. 😐
  • To participate in more extra curricular activities.

Personal Resolutions

  • Eat healthier. That means less chocolate *sigh*
  • Write more, structure out this story I’ve had sitting at the back of my brain for the longest time.
  • I want to be more organized. With my blogs, my notes, my desk and my life. ._.

And those are my resolutions for 2016! Hopefully I can go through with most of these, if not all, by the end of the year!

18 thoughts on “2016 Resolutions

  1. I never thought about ebooks ruining peoples’ eyes but that makes a lot of sense. I, on the other hand, still want to try to read more ebooks this year since the majority of books I read are physical ones. And good luck with your blogging and academic goals! It’s challenging being a blogger and student. But you can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think e-readers are less damaging to the eye, but I mainly read on my phone so… And it’s been a while since I’ve read a physical book 🙂 Yes, I saw how one of your resolutions was to make better use of your e-reader, good luck with that! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really plan on eating healthier as well. Goodbye chocolate bars and chips 😢
    Best of luck for reviewing every book you read! I probably won’t be able to do that, but I’m sure you can do it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m already two books behind haha, I’m making myself a rule – no new books until previously read books have been reviewed! Let’s see how it works out.
      So far, I’ve cracked once or twice and stuffed some chocolate in my mouth. ._. But that’s definitely better than having chocolate after almost every meal like I used to 😛
      Good luck with getting healthier! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this! Many people are setting their reading goals very high, and that’s incredible if they can read that many books. But I’m one who prefers to challenge herself a little bit, without it being completely unreasonnable 🙂 We have the same book goals 😀
    And yes to writing more, getting more organized! Good luck for all of these!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Marie! I didn’t want to read a ridiculous amount of books this year, because I really need to focus on my school coursework a lot. I’ll be in the 12th grade by April so very important exams to enter university coming up soon. Funfunfun. Not 😐
      Good luck for your resolutions too! Also, I’m eagerly looking forward to your travelling feature! Hope you put a lot of pictures! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I understand, I did the same thinking as you did: since it’s going to be a busy year I think – well, at least for the first part – I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself with books, too. I wish you luck already for all of your important exams, but I’m not worried, YOU WILL BE THE BEST ❤
        Thank you so much! Aw, I hope you'll enjoy it, and no worries…I take LOTS of pictures, so… there will be LOTS :p

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck on reading more thoroughly. This is a habit I find difficult to get into, myself, because I’m naturally a very fast reader. I try reading out loud sometimes, but somehow I bore myself doing so xD

    The organization goal is also something I really empathize with. For me, part of that is purging–things that only take up space like clothes I don’t wear anymore, but also inactive blogs from my following list, are ones that I want to clean out a little.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, I’ve tried the reading out loud thing too. It’s too slow and I mess up the words more than I’d like to 😛 It’s good to clean out a bit, make up, clothes, blogs – gives you room for more! My desk (and life) are such a mess right now and I procrastinate cleaning it like crazy. I have 50 different pens strewn around and I’m not even sure if 5 of them work xD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not sure what other strategies there are to read more slowly/more thoroughly, other than anjotating (which doesn’t work so well for me).

        See, I’m trying to prevent just getting more stuff again! I’d really like to just have less stuff, especially as I’m not putting a lot of it to good use and someone else might. I have a ton of writing utensils as well. I might have to clean those out, too xD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’d think my pending million homework sheets would be a motivation to stop going through books like a kid goes through slices of cake but nooooo, homework can wait, my brain says! For now, READ ALL OF ZE BOOKS!
        I have a problem 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ohh, that’s awesome! The English syllabus my school follows is a bit meh, the stories aren’t the best, the poetry is very old (and most of them quite boring, to be honest) and we don’t have essay writing anymore 😦 Just stuff like dialogue writing and letter writing so… 😐
        Haha, yes! I’d rather read and write than do homework any day! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That’s cool! I’m only in high school and the education system in India is very different so you can only choose your elective – Computers, Economics and some other stuff are the options.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

