Books

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love But Also Neglect Sometimes Unintentionally

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more details!

I love a lot of books. If marrying books was allowed, I’d definitely be a polygamist. Because of my multitude of feelings for multiple books, I sometimes forget to talk about some, thus neglecting them, thus making them feel like they’re less important. This list is for all the books I’ve loved but haven’t spent enough time gushing over.

1. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
This book.
This freaking book.
I loved it sooo much. I got it the week it released and I’ve reread it 3 times, but I still haven’t read the sequel. *facepalm* SO STEWPID OF MOI I KNOW. Because I’ve only read this one and don’t know what happens in the rest of the series, I don’t talk about it much. But I still love it very very very much.

2. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare
I’ve only ever read two plays by Shakespeare, this one and Romeo and Juliet. The latter was a bit meh but I loved this one! It was in my English coursework for 2 years so I’ve read this multiple times. I just really love the story and the plot twists and the setting, it’s brilliant.

3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Speaking of plot twists…
All I heard about this before I got into it was that “there’s a big plot twist.” Some say that in itself is a spoiler, but I don’t think so. This book was so unique and unlike anything I’d ever read before, I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend this to anyone who hasn’t read it yet!

4. Tales of the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare
I read this very recently and I haven’t even posted my review on this yet but OHMYGOD this was brilliant! The stories and the characters and everything was absolutely amazing! All the characters that we know and love seem so much more complicated and so much is revealed about why the characters behave like they do. The ending broke my heart. Anything Cassandra writes, I will read!

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Though this isn’t my favourite work by him, this book did leave a profound impact on the way I look at life. There are so many quotable moments in this I just can’t xD this was also surprisingly hilarious for a book about teenage kids dying of cancer. Five stars.

6. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas
I can’t even begin to express how much I loved this book. The first book in this series was great but this one was brilliant. It was fast paced and action packed and Celaena was so badass. Ugh so good!

7. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
A lot of the times, the sequel doesn’t live up to the first book, this is not one of those times. Apart from the ending being kind of confusing, this was a really awesome book! I loved seeing Katniss and Peeta again. The whole concept of this book was so unexpected and I was just screaming at my book, “WHAT?!? AGAINN?!!” I don’t talk about all the glory of this book and story often enough.

8. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
This story was so fresh and new and unlike the majority of YA novels. I loved the friendships and the adventures and just, everything about this book. It was so freaking good. Every YA lover, please read this! It’s a little hard to get into, but after ploughing through the first chapter, you will be sucked into this.

9. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
I’ve only read book numero uno of this series but I thought it was really nice. I should probably read the whole series soon . . . I loved the writing – it was so poetic and unique because of the text that was striked off. Excited to see Juliette in her adventures. I hope Warner dies in a hole :))

10. Just One Day by Gayle Forman
I can’t begin to express what this book means to me. I love the story, I love the setting, I love everything about this book. Everything. Seeing how Allyson grows and transforms through the story is so wonderful. She becomes a whole new person, more confident. I relate to her so much, being stuck studying something your parents want you to and seeing how she overcame that and became happier was great. I really really really enjoyed this one.

That’s all for this list! What are some books you love but haven’t broadcasted your love for yet? Tell me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love But Also Neglect Sometimes Unintentionally

Leave a Reply

