Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books for People Who Like Food

To take part in Top Ten Tuesdays visit The Broke and Bookish. This week’s topic is Books for people who like X

Do you like food? I like food. Pizza and cake are my favourites but I do like other foods. Pasta is a close third, as is biriyani. So I chose to fill in the blank this week with FOOD 🍟🍝🍕🍖🍗🍤🍣🍞🍜🍲🍔

As much as I like stuffing food in my face, I think I like stuffing food in my eyes (not literally) (via words and descriptions) if not equally, almost as much. These are some books whose descriptions of food made my mouth water because wow.

1. The Wrath and the Dawn by Reneé Ahdieh

image

Soon, platters of food were brought before them—steaming, buttery basmati rice with bright orange saffron staining its center, surrounded by lamb in a savory sauce of dates, caramelized onions, and tangy barberries; skewers of marinated chicken and roasted tomatoes, served alongside chilled yogurt and cucumbers; fresh herbs and lavash bread, with rounds of goat cheese and sliced red radishes splashing brilliant colors against a polished wood backdrop.

Wow. Can you please lift off the page and enter my mouth? Thanks.

2. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

image

Wes’s mother owns a food business.  It is glorious.

3. Just One Day by Gayle Forman

image

Things like halibut with an orange tequila jalapeño beurre blanc with kiwi fruit.

He returns with everyone else’s dessert—crèmes brûlée and chocolate mousse—and, miraculously, one perfect creamy macaron just for me. The inside is filled with brown, sweet, gritty paste, figs I think. It’s dusted with powdered sugar so artfully it’s like a painting. I take another picture. Then I eat it.

I want to eat it too Allyson. The descriptions of the macarons are insaaane. Also hagelslag, which is basically chocolate sprinkles, are mentioned (because Netherlands) and they are so delicious.

4. All the Harry Potter books!!

image

The Christmas feasts were described in such detail, I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to go to Hogwarts for the magic or the food. Also Mrs Weasley makes the best food ever, from what we read in the books and saw in the movie. SO MUCH FOOD. Apart from Deathly Hallows, food was an A+ in all of the books.

5. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

image

It’s got all her favorite things: a Brie sandwich, barbecue chips, rainbow cookies, the good kind of apple juice.

Lara Jean bakes all the blooming time. I mean, are you trying to make me want to eat the book???!

So we said the chicken dish, caviar dip, cheese puffs, punch . . . We can bake some cookies or brownies.

Try an orange Creamsicle; it’s really good.”

Margot picks through the tin and frowns. “You didn’t do molasses cookies?”

6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

image

Since Katniss is from a sad, poor background and often doesn’t get enough to eat, when she describes the food they eat in the Capitol, I die on the inside. It all sounds so delicious, and how she describes even the most mundane things like mangoes makes it all the more beautiful. Peeta owns a bakery so they often talk about icing the cakes. As I mentioned earlier, cake is one of my faves, so this was a massive plus for me.

7. Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson

image

Though Tracy claimed to have terrible food at the Home, she was constantly raving about when she had good food with Cam. I really really wanted to have the mountain of French fries topped with mayo that she kept mentioning. Also the McDonald’s that she kept having. Mmm.

8. Percy Jackson books!

image

They had quite the party with the food here. Eating, sacrificing. Delicious. Also Percy’s mum made blue food all the time. Blue. Food. How what when please can I have some?

That’s all for this list, I love all of these foods and books and hope I can gorge my eyes on more such books with such foods and fill my soul with their wonderfulness. ^_^
Have you read any books (other than cook books!) that made your mouth water? Tell me in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books for People Who Like Food

  1. Hahaha I major in food technology in uni right now so I loove books related to food! The Narnia books show a lot of delicious and grand meals as well.
    Blue foods always remind me of Percy 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? I’ve never read the Narnia books! The movie has some great looking food though. Food Technology sounds awesome 😀 You get to learn (and eat maybe?) About food! Blueberries remind me of Percy, haven’t eaten much other blue foods 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Wrath and the Dawn is a must read!! If not for the amazing story, for the mouth watering food! 😉 Read it soon so we can discuss 😀
      Lara Jean bakes so much 😮 Once I tried to make a cake, it didn’t rise. 😦 Tasted alright though 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

