Reviews

Baby Come Back by Christa Maurice

I was approached by the author to read and review this book, in no way did that affect this review. All views and opinions are entirely my own.

While I love Young Adult romance, New Adult and I are a bit rocky, it’s usually a hit or miss situation: this was unfortunately a miss. The last NA book I read was Undecided, which I ADORED, but this one? Not so much. I wasn’t a big fan of the plot or the characters in this story, I felt very disconnected from the characters. The story had a rather awkward pace, introducing us to far too many characters in the first chapter. Above all, I didn’t understand the story. Everyone has a back story which is supposed to have shaped them, I just didn’t understand how. It’s a very messy plot, requiring a lottt of fine tuning.

A major part for my disliking this book was the disconnect I felt with the characters. It may be partly because of the massive age gap between me and them, but I just didn’t understand who they were and what they were coming from. Everyone seemed so flat and one dimensional and bitter, that I didn’t want to know them anymore.

I liked the premise of the book, a boy band touring the world and meeting girls but it wasn’t exactly the One Direction fan fiction I was expecting it to be. The language is strong, and there are themes of sex and teen pregnancy which I felt weren’t portrayed in the best light. While NA does typically deal with darker themes, I felt like this wasn’t done right. The book is also quite short, so it felt like a lot of details were trying to be smushed into one tiny book. The resolution of the i

Ultimately, I’d like to say that New Adult isn’t my cup of tea, which is why I didn’t particularly enjoy this book however, I’m sure that there are several people who like books like this one. If you are an avid NA reader, do check this out. If you aren’t, this isn’t the best place to start.

Leave a Reply

