Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Beachy Summery Reads

image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and Bookish. Check out their blog for more details on how to participate.

My summer break ends in two weeks and then it’s back to school. Noooo. However, it’s going to start raining soon, which is exciting! This week’s topic is about beach reads. When you’re on summer vacation, all you want to do is sip a cold iced tea and read cute fluffy contemporary books which (preferably) take place over the summer. You can reminisce about the summer romances you’ve had over the years (or in my case, the fantasies of them haha) and just relaxxxx. These are a few books I think would make great summer reads!

1. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

image

This is her most recent book. It’s set in the summer and follows a girl whose summer research camp plans fall through so she gets to spend her three months with her friends, gets a part time job and meets a boy because of this job. It’s really cute and fun, a perfect summer read!

2. Paper Towns by John Green

image

If you’re in the mood for a more thought provoking book to read this summer, I recommend this one. John Green’s other work is also fabulous but since this is set a few days before summer break and has an epic, hilarious road trip, this is an ideal summer read for someone who wants more than a fluffy romance.

3. Anna and the French Kiss trilogy by Stephanie Perkins

image

Do you want cute, adorable, aww-worthy stories which will make you laugh and smile and melt your heart into mush? Look no more, Stephanie Perkins is your new best friend! Anna is my personal favourite (because hello, it’s set in Paris!) but all of them are extremely cute.

4. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

image

Set in the summer holidays, yes, this is a summer romance story. But it’s more deep than that – it stresses on familial relations and friendships, making it a very unique, heartfelt read.

5. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

image

A second Morgan Matson book?! This, like Unexpected Everything, has impeccable writing and great characters. This story, however,
is a lot deeper than the former. It’s a story of how an introvert opens up to people, a story about finding yourself. It’s beautiful and wonderful and I think most people will really enjoy this!

6. Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

image

If you’re in the mood for some fantasy, PJO is the way to go! (Unintentional rhyme). Taking place in good old Camp Half Blood, this story will suck you in because of it’s hilarious narrative and keep you chuckling through the duration of five books. If you feel like Percy is too immature for your taste, read the Heroes of Olympus series! They’re both amazing, I just like PJO a teensy bit better. 😉

7. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

image

This is ridiculously adorable and will keep you smiling throughout. The story turns out to be something very different from what you’ll expect after reading the blurb but it’s lovely nonetheless. If you like contemporary romance, this is for youuu.

8. Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid

image

The story has such a unique concept, separating it from other teen romances. I love how things turned out in the end of the story, not exactly how you expect them to. Friends to lovers is my all time favourite trope, so this was really nice!

9. Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya van Wanegen

image

Written by a 15 year old, this is one of the sweetest, funniest books I’ve read all year. And it’s non fiction. What?! It’s about how Maya tries out tips and tricks on how to be popular from a book that came out in the mid 50s. I chuckled and I cried and felt all of the emotions. It’s not a fluffy contemporary, or a love story of any sort, but I think it would make an great summer read. 🙂

10. Summer Days and Summer Nights (an anthology edited by Stephanie Perkins)

image

I just finished this today! It’s a collection of twelve short love stories about very different kinds of people. Because of the diversity in characters, settings and writing styles, there’s sure to be a story for everyone who reads this! Review coming soon. 🙂

Weirdly enough, this summer when I went to the beach, I was reading Game of Thrones. Not sure if that counts as a typical summer read (because Winter is coming hahaha) but I enjoyed it!

What do you plan on reading this summer? Anything different from the typical love story type? Is it summer yet in wherever you’re from?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Beachy Summery Reads

  1. How did you like Summer Days and Summer Nights? Like which stories did you like the most? My favorite one was definitely Jennifer E. Smith’s, but there were a ton of fab ones mixed in. I, too, also loved the diversity and LGBTQ+ mentions. 🙂

    Like

    1. Jennifer E Smith’s story was wonderful! My favourite was A Map of Tiny Perfect Things. I also loved Veronica Roth’s story, I found the concept really interesting. I wasn’t expecting the characters to be so diverse, so that was nice. I love how YA is slowly embracing LGBTQ+ and diversity in protagonists. 🙂 So many stories had very unexpected surreal twists which worked in some, but felt kind of bizarre in others. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve seen Divergent and enjoyed it; it actually made me want to pick up the books! And oh no! Well, honestly, I think I’m starting to grow out of certainly YA titles so I’m going to go into this series with really low expectations. 😄

        Like

  2. I have unexpected everything on my list as well 🙂
    Even though i am actually one of those readers that doesn’t really wants to read the cute contemporary -as you mentioned in your intro part- as a summer read. I do need one or two in between the heavier stuff as well.

    Great list 🙂
    I hope you had a fantastic summer even if it is almost over for you 🙂

    My TTT: https://booksbeautifylife.blogspot.de/2016/05/top-10-tuesday-beachsummer-reads-tbr.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re talking to someone who’s reading Game of Thrones over summer xD To each their own I guess. Yep, jumping into a thought provoking book so another deep story is a bit exhausting, that’s when cute romances are perfect to read; you don’t need to think too much while reading and they make you feel nice and warm inside 🙂

      Like

    1. Have fun reading! I loved the anthology and also adore Jenny Han’s writing. 🙂 Wasn’t the biggest fan of The Summer I Turned Pretty, but most people loved it so maybe you will too!

      Like

    1. I’ve actually read only two of Sarah Dessen’s books, hope to read more this year! And Morgan Matson’s books are fabulous summer reads if you’re looking for some 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw that sucks! He’s at an ideal age to dive into the books 😦 I read the series when I was about 10 or 11 and really enjoyed it because of how relatable it was (not the whole Greek God thing, but you get what i mean :P) Just ensure he doesn’t watch the God awful movie and form misjudgments about the wonderful series that the movies massacred .-.
      Does he like Harry Potter? 🙂

      Like

  3. This is a great list!! I love fluff for summer reads 😀 I do have a confession….I’ve never read PJO *hangs head in shame* One of these days I will….I hope anyways!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aahhhh lovin the books on your list! I love all books in Anna and the French Kiss and Since You’ve Been Gone! Sadly though I couldn’t enjoy The Unexpected Everything 😦 I’m only through the first 3 chapters or so, but still 😛 anyway, why didn’t I think of putting PJO on the list?? 😀

    Like

    1. Aww, now that you’re further into the book, are you enjoying it more? 🙂 Since You’ve Been Gone was fabulous! To each their own, I suppose. Stephanie Perkins is queen of all things romance – Read the anthologies she edited if you’re ever in need for a romance fix! 🙂 PJO made me jealous because I wanted to go to a camp like Camp Half Blood 😛 Have a great summer!

      Like

    1. Yep! I’ve read all her stories except Second Chance Summer, and they’re all really nice 🙂 Hope you enjoy The Unexpected Everything!

      Like

Leave a Reply

