Books · Miscellaneous

PopCon 2016 – I bought too much fandom stuff.

This post I sooo overdue.

On May 15, 2016 I attended my first convention. I live in Mumbai, India where next to no fandom activities ever happen. There’s ComicCon and YouTube FanFest, but they both happen during exam season every year. Great timing guys, really appreciate it. :3

For the past two years (I think) there’s been an event called Potter Mania that’s held in the summer, but for some reason or the other, I’ve inevitably never been in town when it happened. This year they revamped from Potter Mania to PopCon, Pop Culture Convention and I got to attend! Though a majority of the people that came were Potterheads, there were a bunch of people who were Game of Thrones fans. I loved talking to people and listening to how much they like HP, a lot of them were fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices, so we gushed over Lady Midnight (and fought over Will!) There was a few quizzes, my friends and I did the Harry Potter one but no one wanted to stay for the later rounds, so we left despite qualifying to the next round haha.

Apart from that, the actual event wasn’t all that exciting. There were way too many people, people kept looking up facts on their phones during the quiz and it was pretty chaotic so my friends and I left early to get pizza πŸ˜› HOWEVER, I managed to snag some cheap merch! Since I was surrounded by merch everywhere, I went a bit delirious however, I managed to restrict myself from buying too much (I think?) Anyhow, this is all of the stuff that I got!

image

This Deathly Hallows, Golden Snitch, Two Owl Thingy bracelet. I’m well aware that the Deathly Hallows sign isn’t the right way round but I wore it wrong while taking the picture.

image

These three Harry Potter related book marks. Amen to the one on the right 🙏

image

I got a Hufflepuff badge because I think that’s the house I belong to (read about my Sorting crisis here). The Weasley is my King badge reminded me of exactly how much I love the Order of the Phoenix book! The one of Tyrion Lannister and the tiny Star Wars one were free! I’m not a part of either fandoms (been reading GoT for about a month now xD) but I might be one day, so we must be prepared. + it was free!

image

I got The Quibbler guys! Initially I thought there’s stuff written in it, but it’s just a plain notebook haha. I will write down my plans on how to take over the world on it. I think it’s a really nice notebook, nonetheless.

image

Though I’m not done with the first book in the Game of Thrones series, Danaerys is my favourite character so I got a necklace of the Targaryen crest (I think I murdered both their spellings)

image

This multi fandom necklace. I love how it looks! It’s so pretty ^.^

image

Aaand the one I was most excited about, the Time Turner necklace! This is sooo pretty. I didn’t want one with pink sand but now I think this looks really nice. (Ignore my messy closet in the back)

image

Here are a few pictures we took at the event:

image

image

image

image

image

They decorated the place really beautifully and all in all, though chaotic, it was a fun time! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “PopCon 2016 – I bought too much fandom stuff.

Leave a Reply

