Lists · Miscellaneous

Souvenirs from Across The World: Mumbai, India

Marie from Drizzle and Hurricane Books started Souvenirs from Across the World for all the blogosphere to talk about where we’re from and talk about our countries. I’ve been loving reading everyone’s posts about their countries and learnt so much about different places around the world. If you want to take part, read Marie’s introduction here and if you want to read her post about France, click here.

I’m Indian and I’ve lived here for the past 11 years of my 16 years (we lived in Switzerland till I was 5 but I have little to no recollection of it :P). I lived in Kolkata, in the east, for a year. Bangalore, in the south, for six years and now we live in Mumbai, on the west coast. We’ve lived in Mumbai for almost 5 years. Of the three cities, this is definitely my favourite. So I thought instead of talking about India as a whole, (India is massive and I could never condense everything I have to say about my country in a single post!) I’ll stick to talking about Mumbai, a city I know well and love so much.

Mumbai is on the west coast of the country. Formerly known as Bombay, it’s one of the more populated cities with 11.98 million people and growing. It’s home to the Indian film industry ‘Bollywood’ and to several movie stars. I love Mumbai because it’s so fast paced and exciting. There’s always something happening – college fests, fairs, food festivals, pujas – there’s so much to do and so many people to meet! Despite being on the west, as it’s a more industrialized city, we have people of all religions and from all around the country.


Main Tourist Attractions

Gateway of India


It’s a historical monument and King George V is the only person in the history of time to have walked through it. It’s always crowded because of all the tourists.

Nariman Point

 
From here, you can see the entire city which is so beautiful when it’s all lit up in the night.

The Jehangir Art Gallery


It’s a museum. Honestly not one of my favourite places but a lot of tourists enjoy it. Been here twice on school trips. Not the most fun experience.


Places To Shop

Street shopping in Mumbai is no laughing matter. It’s practically a sport. Fun fact: Once my mum bought a top worth Rs. 750 at Rs. 150. Sadly, I did not inherit this bargaining gene. A lot of people prefer to bargain shop over brand shop because Mumbaikars are complete snobs and will judge you if you wear the same clothes twice. So of course it’s better to buy cheap if you’re not going to repeat outfits! Here are some fun places to bargain shop. People bring down prices like craaazy.

Colaba Causeway 

 
For the prettiest jewellery and great shoes.

Hill Road

 
For all the clothes and all the accessories at crazily cheap prices.

Lokhandwala


For really unique and cool tops and t shirts though slightly pricier than the other two.


Food!

I have a lot of places I love to eat at but since this is about India, I’m sticking to my favourite places to eat Indian foods.

Persian Darbar


The best biriyani ever!

Bademiya


The best rolls in town!

Leopold Cafe


There was a shooting at this café in 2008, so the place is pretty famous because of that but the food here is insanely good. I’ve been here a few times and not a single thing disappointed. They serve Indian, Italian, Chinese and Mexican food and it’s all amazing.

Theobroma


The best mawa cake and great brownies and excellent Red Velvet cake. Mmm. I’m hungry now!

Merwans


My favourite bakery of all time ever. The tastiest puffs and mini pizzas and also really nice cakes!

Chaat


Bombay is famous for it’s chaat, an Indian snack, and there a lot of places famous for chaat but in my opinion, it tastes more or less the same everywhere. Here are some of my favourite chaats.


Beaches

As I mentioned earlier, Mumbai is on the coast so we have beaches. I hate beaches but here are two I don’t mind because they have great food stalls. (Yes, I like it only for the food :P)

Juhu Beach

Girgaon Chowpatty


My Favourite Things to do in Mumbai

Roam Around Powai

Powai is a township based on European architecture. It has tons of parks, fast food places, restaurants, knick knack shops, bakeries – basically everything you will need to survive. It’s a lot of fun to just walk around eating ice cream and chatting with friends here. There used to be a massive bookshop but now it’s a Starbucks so that sucks, but apart from that, Powai is pretty fun.

Public Transport

Mumbai has one of the most efficient public transport systems in India. We have trains, buses, metro and rickshaws. I really like going in rickshaws and on the metro, they’re a lot of fun 🙂

Sunset at Carters

Carter Road is a really popular hang out place. It’s right next to the ocean and there are rocks you can sit on and just listen to the waves. There are a bunch of buskers who sing songs on their guitars in the hopes of being discovered. There are tons of chaat places. But above all, the sunset at Carter’s is one of my favourite things to look at. It’s so pretty and just really calming to look at.

Rains
 
The rains are finally here! Mumbai gets a lotttt of rain. So much that the roads get flooded as much as a swimming pool. We’ve been sent home a couple times because they had to evacuate the building so that we didn’t get stranded at school (basically my worst nightmare). I love when the skies are dark and the weather is gloomy. It’s my favourite time of the year. Mumbai has the heaviest rains and so, it’s one of my favourite places to be in.


That’s about all of the things I’m saying for now. I feel like I rambled on quite a bit in this post but there’s so much to talk about, I can’t condense it haha. If you want to see more of India (there’s so much more!), do tell me. I had tons of fun writing this and will be happy to write about other places 🙂

 

30 thoughts on “Souvenirs from Across The World: Mumbai, India

  1. Thank you for such a fantastic blog. Where else could anyone obtain that kind of info written in such
    a great way? I have a presentation that i’m currently working on, and I happen to be searching for such information.Thank you for blogging and i
    enjoy your articles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you! To be honest, before I posted this I didn’t know people outside India actually enjoyed Indian food. My Dutch student exchange partner couldn’t handle the spice 😛 Biriyani is my favourite dish of all time! Hope you can come to India sometime, and stop by Mumbai for some great food. (Who needs anything else when you have good food, am I right? 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! 🙂 Oh my god I LOVE Indian food, especially when it comes to spice. I put chilli on everything, including things like spaghetti bolognese haha. You are a girl after my own heart – nothing can ever be that bad when you have delicious food! I hope I’ll get to visit India some day, too. 🙂

        Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your home! I would love to visit India one day and the Gateway of India is stunning, as is the rest of the country! I especially love it’s architecture. Street shopping in India sounds like such a fun experience and the food looks incredible 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Hope you like India when you’re here. Yes, street shopping is a lot of fun, especially if you’re good at bargaining 😛

      Like

  3. Nariman Point looks amazing! I love a waterfall front with a great skyline. Oh, and briyani! I love eating briyani, though I’d imagined that the ones in my country aren’t as great as the ones from India. (I actually had Indian friends who told me that). Would love to try the ones in India! I want to try riding the rickshaw too. It feels like it is going be a different experiences. Haha. Excellent post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Depends on where you eat it, I’ve had biriyani outside India and it was delicious. It’s a bit spicy though, which not a lot of people like 😛 Rickshaws are so much fun! But when it’s hot, they’re not the most comfortable… Nariman Point has a great view of the skyline 😀
      Thank you so much! Hope you come to India sometime for authentic biriyani 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I live in Malaysia. It’s a local food shop chain opened by a southern Indian man. Supposedly it’s authentic, but one of my friends from India says it’s not as good. So I definite hope to try it in India! I’ll make sure to ride a rickshaw when the weather is comfortable, thanks for the warning :D.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. South Indian cuisine is completely different from North Indian cuisine so that’s probably why his biriyani isn’t as good as the normal one. North Indian food uses more spices than South Indian. There are tons of recipes on the net, you could definitely try some 😀
        I’ve always wanted to go to Malaysia! My friend went and has been raving about it ever since. Everything looks so beautiful and colourful and exciting. We were supposed to go there for a school trip but because of the airplane that disappeared, a lot of parents complained and the trip was cancelled. :\

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That would explain things. My friend is from North India. 😀 Malaysia is awesome! (But I might be bias, haha.) There’s a lot of natural stuff here, beaches, caves and wildlife reserves. That’s too bad :/. I hope you’ll get another chance to visit.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, Shoto.
    Thanks for sharing about your city.
    I did not know that Bombay had changed its name to Mumbai. How interesting!
    Happy Reading and Blogging!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, quite some time ago actually. But it’s called both so that’s alright haha. Thank you so much! Happy reading and blogging to you too 🙂

      Like

    1. Aw thanks, that means a lot 🙂 Hope you enjoy the city when you visit! My bucket list has far too many places I want to visit haha, hope I can complete them all one day. How many do you have?

      Like

  5. Ahh this is a FANTASTIC post, thank you SO much for sharing! I loved getting to know your city, I didn’t know much about it to be honest, and now I’m glad I do. And don’t worry , yes, FOOD IS THE BEST we defiitely agree on that. ❤ Powai looks absolutely GORGEOUS as well, I want to visit right now ahah. ❤ And I'm not a huge fan of the rain, actually, but… those beaches, YES. Especially if there's food RIGHT NEXT TO IT. 😛
    Thank you so, so much for your contribution to this little feature ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, I’m glad you enjoyed it!! Yeah I noticed in your map of places you’ve been to, you haven’t travelled a lot in Asia so I hope this virtual tour was nice 😉 The beaches are pretty but of course, food is the number one priority everywhere, what else do we need? 😛 Powai is really beautiful! It’s supposed to look like Europe and I think they did a pretty okay job.
      I loved contributing, it was super fun to write this post and choose all the pictures 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re right, I haven’t travelled there yet, but now I’m looking forward to it, it sounds SO beautiful ❤ And I'm so happy you took me here for a bit, and with FOOOD, what more do I need? 😛
        I'm so happy you liked it, thank you so much for your contribution 🙂 Sweet words like these make me want to try and make this a regular feature 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You definitely should! Maybe not weekly like Top Ten Tuesdays but monthly or bimonthly, maybe. It’s been tons of fun reading and learning about so many places as well as writing about a place I love. I will definitely be on board if you make this a regular thing! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m going to do this soon too!! Yay so excited!! I’m assuming you live in the extreme west of Mumbai…around Bandra or Churchgate…? Since most of the things you mentioned in your post are from there 😛 And btw, absolutely LOVED your post! Pride for our city 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha we both live in Mumbai?! That’s so cool! I just thought we lived in the same country but we also live in the same city 😀 I’m excited to read your post. No actually, I love hanging out in that part of town but like I mentioned towards the end, I live around Powai. My school’s close to Bandra though so my friends and I go to Carters a lot. It’s so pretty in the evenings! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh that’s cool. Mumbai’s massive so not everyone can be close to everything 😛 Going with family to Bandra is kind of awkward because there are couples making out everywhere xD

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

