Books · Tags

The Harry Potter Tag

Harry Potter was one of the first book series I got emotionally invested into. As a ten year old, this world was unlike anything I’d ever heard of- magic, castles, epic Christmas feasts? Sign me up please! The books stayed with me for a very long time, much after I turned over the last page. It’s been a while since I’ve read any of the books but my love for the series is still strong as ever.

In honour of the release of the script of the Cursed Child in book form, AND JK Rowling’s birthday, I decided to dedicate this week to Harry Potter. Every day of the week, there will be a post about Harry Potter because I feel like I haven’t adequately expressed the intensity of my love for this book series. So if you’re a Potterhead, I hope you enjoy this and if you’re not, I hope you become one soon 😀

Last year, Summer @ Xingsings tagged me to do the Harry Potter tag. I don’t know why I hadn’t done it immediately after, but hey, better late than never, right?

1. Favorite book?

image

It changes from time to time but right now, I think I’ll say The Order of the Phoenix. For one, it’s the longest so more time with the gang! Secondly, we got to discover more of Hogsmeade in this book – the cutesy little café Harry and Cho go to, Hog’s Head etc. And thirdly, I love this theme of rebellion that runs through the story – the formation of the DA, Harry standing up against Umbridge, Fred and George destroying the school – I think it’s brilliant. The end had an epic fight sequence and I cried so much when Sirius died but this is an excellent book and I’m quite sure it’s my favourite.

2. Favorite movie?

image

Without a doubt, Deathly Hallows Part 2. It’s the only Harry Potter movie I went to watch in the theatre and I just loved the experience of being in a hall with people who love this series as much as I do – we laughed at the same moments, applauded when Snape entered (much to the movie lovers’ surprise). It was an amazing experience and also an incredible movie. I thought the dialogue was hilarious for a movie that’s supposed to be so dark. The Battle of Hogwarts broke my heart into a million pieces. I love this movie so, so much.

3. Least favorite book?

image

I don’t think I have one but if I had to pick, it would be Prisoner of Azkaban. I love how the book started, being introduced to the Knight Bus and all. It was just the ending – the whole time Turner situation took my ten year old self too long to understand. I still love it, just not as much as I love the others.

4. Parts of the books/movies that make you cry?
Will it be too much of a cop out to say when anybody died? I was sobbing for almost the entirety of the Battle of Hogwarts in both the book and the movie because so many people died and Hogwarts was being destroyed and it was all just too much. I also cried a lot when Dobby died in both the book and the movie because he was Dobby and Dobby was so good to Harry. But one scene that I didn’t expect to cry during was Sirius’s death in the movie. It wasn’t his death I was sad about, it was Daniel Radcliffe’s acting. His scream of anguish and Lupin holding him back, him trying to kill Bellatrix. Just seeing Harry lose another parental figure, was so devastating, I was a mess when it happened.

image

5. Favorite character?
I love everyone except Umbridge and Voldemort (though I do love to hate them) I think my favourite character is Luna Lovegood. She’s so quirky and weird and unafraid to be herself.

image

6. What would your Patronus be?
I really wish there was a Pottermore quiz on this but there isn’t. I don’t know honestly. Maybe a dove because I like peace?

7. If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak, or the Elder Wand, which one would you choose?
The Cloak for sure! Imagine all the things you could get away with if you were invisible?!

8. What House would you be in?
Gryffindor, says Pottermore but I think I’m more a Hufflepuff.
Also Pukwudgie in Ilvermorny.

9. If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?
Evanna Lynch, who plays Luna, seems like a really nice person. She herself was a big Harry Potter fan before getting the role! I’d also love to meet Emma Watson because she’s so inspiring. I looked up to her so much as a kid and I loved her speech at the UN about HeForShe.

image

image

10. If you were on the quidditch team, what position would you play?
I don’t do sports. I’m terrible at basketball so I don’t think I could be a Chaser. I’m not agile enough to be a Keeper. I’d probably be able to see the Snitch but not be fast enough to catch it so not a Seeker. That leaves being a Beater, then!

11. Were you happy with the ending?
I was satisfied with the ending but I didn’t like that it was over. Which is why I’m so excited to read The Cursed Child. *squeal*

12. How much does Harry Potter mean to you?
Harry Potter means so much to me. I made so many friends on Facebook pages because of it. It’s been here for me through thick and thin. Hogwarts will always be my home.

image

If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, consider yourself tagged to do this! I’d love to hear your answers.

Comment below your house and your favourite book/movie 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Tag

  1. Oh my gosh, I cried so much at the end of Deathly Hallows Part 1 because of Dobby-and probably a lot with Sirius moment in Order of the Phoenix, too. TT_TT Those movies are the best adaptations of books ever. Haha, I think the sorting quiz on Pottermore is a little iffy for reliability. I’ve taken it multiple times, and I’ve gotten both Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw quite equally. I’ve finally just resigned to the fact that I’m a Ravenpuff. XD Oh gosh, is it weird that I’m not excited for The Curse Child? I was too satisfied with the ending… but I probably will end up reading it since it’s not exactly an explicit continuation of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the Harry Potter films are the best book to movie adaptations. Awesome how they kept the cast for so long, and how well the movies were made! The Sorting Hat does take our opinions into account so we’d all be in houses we relate to most 😊😄 Really? I think because you read the books a while back, you’ve had more time to accept the ending. I hope I enjoy The Cursed Child – I’m not sure how reading a Harry Potter book in play form will be. I like plays but a big part of HP was the ambience and the setting and I think we may not get as much of it in the script 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am definitely a Hufflepuff and my favorite book is Prisoner of Azkaban (I have read it like 15 times). I was just wondering if there was a Harry Potter tag, glad to see there is! Definitely going to have to do this before the Cursed Child comes out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, Hufflepuffs unite! 😀 This is a really old tag, I got around to doing it only now haha. Look forward to reading your post! 15 times wow that’s some serious commitment haha 😉 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

