Weekly Updates

Weekly Recap #5: Results and Teenagers

Is it just me or is 2016 just flying by way too quickly? 

Books: 

I finished I’ll Give You The Sun and I loved it so much! It’s one of my favourite reads of the year. I started Half Blood Prince which is excellent. I also started Romancing the Dark in the City of Light and I’m not loving it so far, but I’m hoping the story gets better as the book progresses. I was gifted The Martian and Magnus Chase for my birthday, so that’s exciting. 

Music:

I haven’t been listening to a lot of music lately but I really liked Greatest by Sia and The Great Divide by Rebecca Black. I haven’t heard any new songs so if you have any recommendations, please leave them in the comments!

TV:

I finished Younger and it was so cute. I’m so excited to watch the new season! I saw the first episode of Crazy Ex Girlfriend and I didn’t really like the whole musical aspect of it. I started rewatching Pretty Little Liars because I have nothing else to watch. I’m thinking of watching Make It Or Break It because Josh from Younger is in it, and he’s nice to look at. πŸ˜› But I don’t know! 

Life:

For the first time in my life, I failed an exam. And not just one, I failed both Math and Physics so that sucks. I’m not as disappointed as I thought I’d be. Usually when I fail at something, I become very self-depreciating and lose confidence but now I’m just ready to do well. I think I needed to that push of failure to buck up and get back into studying and not wile away my time. 

In other news, people from my old school had a reunion party today. I didn’t attend because I felt too guilty about doing badly in my tests. Also, they all smoke and drink whenever we go out and I’m not judging them for it, but they have a tendency to ignore people who aren’t inebriated, (don’t know if it’s conscious or unconscious) so I feel a bit left out. I personally, am not comfortable with drinking right now, because my parents would not approve if they found out and I may just end up passed out in a ditch somewhere. Also, I don’t like the idea of smoking in general. 

I’m a teenager and I’m supposed to be wild and rebellious but for some reason, I’m too afraid to do the things that teenagers do like drink and smoke and sneak out. Sometimes I think it’s okay, and my moral compass is working right but other times I feel like I’m missing out on crucial teenage moments. I think I’m doing the whole teenager thing wrong. 

11 thoughts on “Weekly Recap #5: Results and Teenagers

  1. Hey, you’re not alone! I actually CANNOT stand smoking, I’m alright with alcohol but I don’t get pissed every night like some people I know do. Don’t worry about those tests too much πŸ™‚ Just get up and keep on trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not against alcohol! The people I hang out with (hope they don’t find this) drink wayy more than they should and get drunk within the first half an hour so I just feel really awkward.
      What’s slightly irritating is that, I’ve never failed anything and then I fail two at once .-. We have a lot of tests left though, so I hope I can make up! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t worry, you’re doing great πŸ™‚ Keep doing your own thing – whatever feels right for you. This is coming from someone who’s done the whole rebellious teenager thing in pretty much every way you can think of. I won’t pretend it wasn’t fun. I had lots of good times and made a lot of memories. But that doesn’t mean you have to do the same. It doesn’t mean it’s the only way to have fun and make memories or whatever. Just do you and don’t let anyone force you into something you don’t actually want for yourself. That’s a kind of rebellion, too and a great one at that πŸ™‚
    (And btw, there are definitely certain things in regards to which I wish I had done things differently. So… πŸ˜› )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I never thought about it like that, rebelling against the normal rebellion πŸ˜› That’s like rebel-ception xD
      Sometimes I think maybe I’m missing out on the whole scene and won’t have epic stories to tell. But I honestly feel so awkward around people who drink and smoke and whatnot, I think I’ll pass haha πŸ˜›

      Like

  3. Oh god nope, you’re not doing anything wrong! You’re my age (right? I’m seventeen) so it’s weird that I’m being all adult-ish and trying to advise you but whatever. I don’t think we’re missing anything out by not smoking or drinking, I mean these are not the only ways of rebellion. Rebel in some other way πŸ˜€
    People in my school smoke and drink too (one of my really good friends does) but I think it’s important to stay true to yourself and not participate in anything you don’t want to. Smoking is out of the way, like why would people voluntarily increase their chances of a painful death? And drinking is fine but the idea of puking puts me off. So right now, it’s a no-no for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank god I’m not the only one. Yep, we’re the same age! (12th grade and all that :P)
      I don’t think we HAVE to rebel as teenagers but sometimes I just think maybe I’m missing out on things by being a sensible human (does that make sense?) I’m 100% against smoking as well. I don’t have a problem with people drinking, I have a problem with being left out because I’m not. Thankfully this group of friends are from tenth so we don’t see much of each other very often so I can escape the awkwardness xD I’d rather meet them in situations where alcohol is not involved. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

