Books · Weekly Updates

Weekly Recap #11: Money, Trump and Exams

This is the most random heading I’ve had for one of these update posts but it will all make sense, I promise!

Books:

I had an okay week of reading but considering the fact that I have exams, that’s okay. I finished Textrovert by Lindsey Summers which was a very okay read. Review coming up soon. I also finally read After You by Jojo Moyes which I have mixed feelings about. Don’t want to say anything else and spoil Me Before You for anyone. I finished my second non-fiction book of the year, How To Be a Person which I found hilarious at some parts and extremely boring in others. Funnily enough, I wanted to write a book with very similar subject matter but this has made changed my mind. I just started Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne and it’s wonderful. It’s really opening my eyes to OCD and a lot of other mental health disorders which I didn’t take seriously.

Music:

Zilch. Nada. Where does one even find new music anymore???

TV:

The same as every week, I guess. Continuing with How I Met Your Mother, Younger and Project Runway. I haven’t been keeping up with How To Get Away With Murder which is literally one of my favourite shows so that’s next on my to-do list.

Life:

Now the title is actually going to make sense. I have exams right now. My school split the entire coursework of the year (which we’ve somehow completed?!) into thirds so we have three tests on each subject. I just finished my English papers which I think I aced. I also got my papers back from my last exam which was in October (yes, we have way too many exams!) and I am happy to announce I got more than double what I scored in Physics last time so I passed with decent marks! 😀 I’m hoping I can continue improving.

My best friend’s birthday was on the 7th and so, I called her at midnight and she set up a big conference call with a lot of people which was fun. I loved catching up with everyone and they all sound so different on the phone. After they all left the call, we spoke till around 3 in the morning! We don’t talk on the phone a lot because I live in a different state (we moved a few years ago) but we’ve kept in touch which is amazing. She wanted to read my blog and I didn’t tell her the URL or what kind of blog it is (I don’t know, I’m just weird.) but in the off chance that she found it, hi!

Our Prime Minister decided it was a good idea to make the usage of Rs. 500 and Rs. 100o notes illegal because he wants to curb the production of fake notes and end hoarding of black money. It’s a great idea but it’s been executed really terribly! The banks don’t have enough money for everyone to go exchange their notes for valid money. India is a very highly populated country and so, they should have waited till they had enough notes to distribute. Every single bank has an insane line! I saw some people who got food and chairs to sit comfortably instead of stand because the lines are ridiculous. On the plus side, a lot of people have been caught hoarding cash illegally so that’s good!

Trump won presidency of the USA. I was genuinely shocked at his victory because all along, he seemed to have been a joke. I did not take his candidature seriously at all. With a campaign that propagated sexism, racism and misogyny, he still managed to win.


Image result for let's chat

How was your week? Did you do anything exciting? What music have you been listening to lately? What are your opinions on Trump winning the election?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Recap #11: Money, Trump and Exams

      1. Ohh okay, oh that’s too bad it wasn’t as good as Me Before You. To be honest, I’m not sure this book was necessary? I haven’t read it, but I think I’ll be okay with sticking with the Me Before You ending. It is sad, but it leaves a lot to the imagination as well of what becomes of her next.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

