Bookish Discussion · Books · Lists

Book Series I’m Not Going To Finish

I’ve read many a book series in my life. It’s really hard to discontinue reading books in a series because you get somewhat attached to the characters as the story progresses and you need to know what happens to them. This is why, most of the time, even if I hate where the story is going, I push through in order to find out what happens.

However, sometimes I just don’t feel like continuing. It is usually because of one of the following reasons:

  • there was too much gap between the publishing of successive books that I forgot what happened before but don’t want to reread the previous books because I honestly don’t care thaaat much.
  • I stop mid series and think I’ll come back to it later when I’m in the mood but I’m never in the mood
  • the story becomes so weird it actually hurts my eyes to continue
  • I could read it. OR I could read the 2849485 other books on my TBR pile. I choose the latter.
  • there’s too much happening and I can’t keep up. (If it’s because of this I maaaay restart the series but the probability of that isn’t too high)

Here are some book series that I won’t be continuing with EVER:

Pretty Little LiarsΒ 

Image result for pretty little liars books

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know that I LOVE the TV show version. So much so that I decided to read this series. Sara Shepard’s writing is very unique and there’s something really creepy about it. Till book 4, it was very similar to the TV show so I liked it. Then the second arc from book 5 to book 8 completely blew my mind! It was insane and though it’s got a lot of criticism, I thought it was fantastic. Then I continued the series till Stunning, book 11 but the books got less and less interesting and the characters more annoying. I mean, how many As can there be? The books in this picture aren’t even all the books in the series! I decided I’d had enough so I stopped. This series has way too many books so I just googled what happens in the later ones.

If you want to read this series, I recommend you stop after book 8, it gets repetitive after that.

House of Night series by PC Cast and Kristin Cast

Image result for marked series

Like PLL, there are too many books in this series and I don’t really like the characters at all. I read the first book when I was just getting into the YA Fantasy genre because a friend recommended it. I liked the concept and the history but overall, it was so full of angst and the characters were just so annoying that I never picked up the next book and I never will. :/

The Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout

Image result for lux series books

There are five books in this series but the first 4 have been compiled into two bind ups now? I don’t know. The previous cover featured an extremely attractive couple on the cover.

Anyway, I read the first 3 books of this series back in late 2014 / early 2015 and I loved them but since then, my reading preferences have changed a lot. Also, I didn’t complete the series back then because the books suddenly changed from single POV to dual POV so that was annoying. To be honest, I don’t even remember what was happening in the book when I left off and I don’t really care anymore so yeah, I’m not gonna continue this. Goodbye.

Cahills Vs Vespers series

Image result for cahills vs vespers books

I LOVED the original 39 Clues series. It was fantastic. It was one of the first series that I got really into and obsessed with. The concept of it was so random and bizarre and the scavenger hunt was just SO FREAKING COOL. The last book was incredible. Then I heard that there’s going to be a continuation to the series. I read the first book and I think I enjoyed it but I don’t really remember? It’s just been too long since then and I don’t care about the characters thaaat much so I’m not going to continue with this. (Also, these books are expensive AF)

The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

Related image

These covers are absolutely stunning. That’s what drew me to this series but I was ultimately disappointed. I powered through the first three books because though they were annoying, they were addictive. So short and easy to fly through – it was great! Then I read The Heir. The characters in it were sooo obnoxious, I couldn’t STAND them! I want to smack them all! I am not going to be continuing with this because I will either end up stabbing the book or myself.

Here are some series that I MAY continue sometime, but not in the immediate future:

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R R Martin

Image result for a song of ice and fire

I really enjoyed the first two books of this series! The writing is excellent, the world so different from any other fantasy and the characters are so complex and interesting. However, this story is told in multiple points of view, and it gets a bit hard to keep up with everything that’s happening to everyone. There are way too many characters that I got confused several times. I do want to reread this sometime maybe, but for now, it’s not a series that I am going to finish.

Delirium series by Lauren Oliver

Image result for delirium series

I have been looking forward to this for a while and while I enjoyed the first book, I’m kind of over the whole dystopian scene. I’m probably not going to pick up the second book but I want to read more by Lauren Oliver and if I love her other books, I will come back to this!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Image result for throne of glass series

I’ve mentioned multiple times that I didn’t particularly like HoF and QoS but I think I’ll give it one last chance with EoS because a friend has convinced me to. I read the first few chapters and then stopped but I will continue on, just to know if this series can be redeemed in my eyes.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab

Image result for a darker shade of magic series

This series has got an insane amount of hype so my expectations were pretty high buuut unfortunately, I wasn’t very impressed by ADSOM. It was good, don’t get me wrong, but not amazing. I didn’t particularly like all the characters and there were aspects of the world that I didn’t get so I’m not in a rush to read book 2.

17 thoughts on “Book Series I’m Not Going To Finish

  1. It’s insane how authors can actually write 15 books with the same characters and same world. Like, when a series gets bigger than 7-8 books, I seriously start questioning whether it’s all worth it.
    That’s a shame about the ADSOM series. I really want to give it a try.
    Even I gave up on Lux and The Selection πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s still understandable when it’s a fantasy world, but PLL is just basically the same four girls making terrible decisions over and over again. You’d think they’d learn something but nooooo.
      You should definitely give it a go! I did like it, just felt it was overhyped. πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you about the Pretty Little Liars series — the first two major story arcs were pretty interesting but after that it was repetitive. How many bad decisions can one group of girls continue to make? I haven’t read the other series that you mentioned in the ‘not going to finish’ section but I do enjoy the Game of Thrones series. It can be a bit overwhelming, the story being told by different character pov’s, especially since the world presented is so intricate but it is a fantastic fantasy story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes exactly! You’d think they’ve learned a thing or two about lies and deceit am I right?
      I do want to take the time and read the whole GoT series from start to finish in continuation so I’ll be able to follow the story and all the character arcs better. It’s just the 9+ character POVs were a bit much for me.

      Like

      1. The Lying Game series! It’s quite long too (six books) but the writing was really cool. πŸ™‚ She has a new book which is a standalone I think called The Amateurs so I look forward to reading that too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG pll the show is so good but I’ve not read the books 😦 15+ books in a series is just too much…. Loved the first three books in the selection hated the others… Didn’t love the first book in a house of night but it was addicting so I powered through till the second book, haha we’re the same people! I also tried throne of glass didn’t really enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I think let’s stick to the PLL show! (It’s almost ending soon 😱)
      I only read the Heir and didn’t like it much. At least you made it through two! That’s also an achievement 😜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That sucks! I read it when I was quite young so I wasn’t too bothered by the writing. If I reread, I’m sure I’m going to have the same problem as you. It’s impossible to follow up Rick Riordan! πŸ˜„

      Like

Leave a Reply

