Books · Reviews

Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran // Witty, Sarcastic and Delightful

3.5 stars

Publication Date: March 9th, 2017

25705800‘I’ve lived through ten iOS upgrades on my Mac – and that’s just something I use to muck about on Twitter. Surely capitalism is due an upgrade or two?’

When Caitlin Moran sat down to choose her favourite pieces for her new book she realised that they all seemed to join up. Turns out, it’s the same old problems and the same old ass-hats.

Then she thought of the word ‘Moranifesto’, and she knew what she had to do…

This is Caitlin’s engaging and amusing rallying call for our times. Combining the best of her recent columns with lots of new writing unique to this book, Caitlin deals with topics as pressing and diverse as 1980s swearing, benefits, boarding schools, and why the internet is like a drunken toddler.

And whilst never afraid to address the big issues of the day – such as Benedict Cumberbatch and duffel coats – Caitlin also makes a passionate effort to understand our 21st century society and presents us with her ‘Moranifesto’ for making the world a better place.

The polite revolution starts here! Please.


I was provided an eARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


I’ve heard a lot about How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran and it was actually on my list of non-fiction books to read this year so I was pleasantly surprised when I was approached by someone from Ebury Publishing who sent me a copy for review before the publishing of the paperback of this book.

In this collection of anecdotes and essays, Moran explores a variety of topics from politics to real estate to the secret behind Starbucks. The book is divided into parts but I found that the essays even within the same section were not necessarily interlinked. This was good, in a way, because the book never became monotonous and covered a wide array of issues.

The main problem that I have with non-fiction is that it gets boring because there is no story and let’s be honest, real life isn’t that interesting 😛 However, Caitlin Moran ensures that the reader is never bored because of her witty, sarcastic tone. I laughed out loud several times while reading this! She makes effective use of anecdotes and narrates them in a way that keeps the reader hooked. Her stream of consciousness writing style enhanced her hilarious commentary on everyday happenings.

Although it is predominantly a funny book, Moran also tackles more serious issues like the refugee crisis and terrorism. She presents her educated opinions on pressing matters eloquently. There are also essays about FGM and rape which, I’m not going to lie, I skimmed over because I am very uncomfortable reading that kind of subject matter. But those are important topics and I’m glad she didn’t gloss over them. This book also talks a lot about women and feminism – I particularly enjoyed those essays because her passion for the same was so evident.

Caitlin Moran is a British columnist and I believe a lot of the essays were her articles from the paper. There are a lot of essays about British culture, which were interesting for me to read about but also some that I feel only British people can empathize with and wholly appreciate. As a columnist, she talks about politics. I don’t know much about British politics so those essays weren’t for me! Also, I think some of the essays are a bit old as they talk about things that happened in 2012/13 and though hilarious, not relevant anymore.

What makes this book great is the tone of her commentary which keeps readers engaged and thus makes a very readable book. Overall, I think Caitlin Moran is a fantastic narrator and I will definitely be reading more from her!


lets-chat

Have you read this book? Do you like Caitlin Moran? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran // Witty, Sarcastic and Delightful

  1. This sounds great! I’ll admit, I’m not the biggest fan of non-fiction books, mostly because they can never seem to keep my attention for long and can be quite boring 😂 But this one seems like one I can get behind, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Lovely review. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

