Books · Reviews

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde // A Fangirl’s Dream Come True <3

282457074 stars

Publication Date: March 14, 2017

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.


A big thank you to the publisher for providing me with an eARC of this book via NetGalley. In no way did that affect my opinion.


I was quite surprised to see that I was approved for this because it seems to be a book that everyone is very excited for so thank you again Swoon Reads for giving me an ARC!

Queens of Geek follows the story of three best friends from Australia who go to Los Angeles for a pop culture convention called Supa Con held over a weekend. Told in two points of views, Charlie’s and Taylor’s, this story follows their respective adventures at SupaCon. Charlie is a vlogger and starred in an indie film so she has a lot of things to do for the marketing of her new movie while Taylor, along with their other best friend, Jamie, explore the convention and look for events related to Taylor’s favourite book/movie series Queen Firestone.

THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE ❤ It’s such a cute story! Despite the general fluffiness of the story, this book is also wonderfully diverse with Charlie being a bisexual biracial girl and Taylor having anxiety and being on the Asperger’s spectrum.

This was literally me throughout the entirety of this book:

Image result for aww gif

Right from the start, we can tell that Jamie and Taylor are the ultimate OTP – they were ridiculously cute together and I loved them so so so much! They were perfect for each other in every way and though we didn’t see their friendship actually blossom in this book, we can definitely tell that they very close. It’s a friends-to-lovers trope done very, very well. 

I loved Taylor’s story line of conquering her anxiety and her stage fright by participating in a competition with so many other people. She also runs a Tumblr blog dedicated to Queen Firestone (I relate, girl – I have my Harry Potter tumblr shrine) so whenever she’d do updates on her blog about the event, we got to read those too, which was fun. In her blog, she talks about all of her fears and her apprehension about the event, about a girl who she heard insult her from afar and her general thoughts. Including the blog updates was a really great idea because it was the perfect way of conveying exactly what she was feeling. Her character felt so real and authentic.

Charlie had her own issues that weekend – she had to spend the entire time fielding questions about her horrible ex and fans asking them to get back together. It must suck, and I’m sure it’d be really hard to get over someone when everyone is telling you to get back together. I loved how even though she became famous, she maintained good relations with her best friends.

Charlie has a vlog channel on YouTube and one of her favourite YouTubers, who she had a massive crush on, was also present at the event. They started talking and got along really well – awesome. And then they started developing feelings for each other – okay. But I feel like they felt too strongly for each other too soon and spoke about things you normally don’t talk about the first time you meet. I didn’t like that it was so insta-love. The justification for that would be that they’d watched each others videos for so long so they feel like they know each other but watching someone on a screen and actually getting to know them are not the same thing.

Something that I found a bit weird in this book was the dialogue – for the most part, it was fine but then some characters would randomly have one page monologues talking about important issues. I like that a lot of issues like bullying, coming out and anxiety were discussed but it could have been done in a more effective way than the soliloquies that felt a lot like info dumping. 

Other than the insta-love and the at times unrealistic dialogue, this book is perfect. It has the right amount of fun and seriousness, a lot of diversity and is set in Fangirl Heaven. Having never been to a convention myself, I cannot say how accurately SupaCon portrayed fan conventions but I really loved the setting. Both Charlie’s and Taylor’s narrative voices were strong and distinct and made this very readable. It was absolutely wonderful and I recommend it to all of you!

If you’re a fan of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, you will particularly enjoy this. Taylor is very similar to Cath and I feel like they would get along really well. ❤

PS- The text on the cover makes it sound so epic lol – Don’t be intimidated by it 😉


lets-chat

Have you read this book? Do you plan on getting it once it’s out? Have you ever been to a convention?

4 thoughts on “Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde // A Fangirl’s Dream Come True <3

  1. This definitely sounds like something I want to read right now! Plus the cover is cute – I wish my hair was that colour. I’ve not been to alot of conventions (I might even get to San Diego one day *sigh*) but I’d love to go to more so I’m really interested to see how Supa Con is portrayed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do read it! It’s really cute 😄 Yeah the cover is very pretty – one of the characters has that hair color. I wanna dye my hair a crazy color someday (maybe not pink though :P)
      A convention in San Diego sounds fun! Hope you get to go soon ❤

      Like

  2. I have been looking forward to this book so much and now especially I can’t wait to read it!! It sounds like such a cute novel. Though insta love is not my favourite?? I see it all too often and my brain never seems to be able to accept it. 😂 Great review, I will definitely be picking up this book sometime! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

