Lists · Miscellaneous

Ed Sheeran’s ‘Divide’ & Books!

If you’ve known me for any amount of time, you know that I love Ed Sheeran! Ever since I heard Lego House and The A Team back in 8th grade, I have adored his music. His new album ‘Divide’ just came out and it is fantastic, I expected nothing less.

Divide cover.png

Apart from being soothing to listen to and very catchy, what I love about his music is the heartfelt lyrics. Every song tells a story, in chords and words. He is such an amazing songwriter ❤

I saw a lot of BookTubers do a Taylor Swift Book Tag where they paired up Taylor Swift’s songs with books. Today I want to do that with the songs on the album ‘Divide.’ The album came out last week so I’ve had a while to listen to all the songs and think of books that could go along with them. Enjoy!

Eraser – Happily Ever After

You know that I’ve got whisky with white lies, and smoke in my lungs
I think life has got to the point, I know without it’s no fun
I need to get in the right mind and clear myself up
Instead I look in the mirror, questioning what I’ve become

Eraser is a very frank, honest rap about Ed Sheeran’s life and everything that has happened since he became famous – it’s not always been sunshine and rainbows – and how different it is from his life pre-fame. This reminded me of Happily Ever After because that’s one of the most realistic books I have ever read and explores the life of Eleanor Bee – the good, the bad and the in-between.

Castle on the Hill – Before We Were Strangers

I’m on my way
Driving at 90 down those country lanes
Singing to “Tiny Dancer”
And I miss the way
You make me feel
And it’s real
We watched the sunset over the castle on the hill

I’m sure you’ve all heard Castle on the Hill by now because it’s always playing on the radio, am I right? It’s a very nostalgic song that gives you all the feels! It’s mostly about going back home, basically. Before We Were Strangers is also a very nostalgic book so I thought it would be the perfect book to pair this song with. It’s about this guy, Matt trying to find his college girlfriend Grace after seeing her one day on the subway. It’s really good!

Dive – Me Before You (Review)

So don’t call me baby
Unless you mean it
Don’t tell me you need me
If you don’t believe it
So let me know the truth
Before I dive right into you

The song Dive is about unrequited love, almost. It’s about when one person obviously has more feelings than the other. <spoiler> I could definitely hear this playing towards the end of Me Before You when Will broke the sad news to Lou that she hadn’t changed his mind. <spoiler ends>

Shape of You – The Score

I’m in love with the shape of you
We push and pull like a magnet do
Although my heart is falling too
I’m in love with your body
And last night you were in my room
And now my bed sheets smell like you

I struggled to find a book to pair with Shape of You because it’s one of the only songs that doesn’t really have a story. I picked The Score by Elle Kennedy because it’s also about being ‘in love with [someone’s] body’

Not really happy with this pick, but couldn’t think of anything better!

Perfect – Where Rainbows End

‘Cause we were just kids when we fell in love
Not knowing what it was
I will not give you up this time
But darling, just kiss me slow, your heart is all I own
And in your eyes you’re holding mine

Where Rainbows End is about two best friends, Alex and Rosie, who have known each other since they were five, and how their relationship changed over the years. I felt like this song was appropriate for it for so many reasons! There are lines about being in love since they were kids, and of knowing each other really well, as Alex and Rosie did.

Galway Girl – Paper Towns

You know she beat me at darts and then she beat me at pool
And then she kissed me like there was nobody else in the room
As last orders were called, was when she stood on the stool
After dancing to Cèilidh, singing to trad tunes
I never heard Carrickfergus ever sung so sweet
Acapella in the bar using her feet for a beat
Oh I could have that voice playing on repeat for a week
And in this packed out room, swear she was singing to me, you know

This song is about a perfect girl who he met one night and his descriptions of how great this girl is reminded me a lot about how Q put Margo on a pedestal throughout Paper Towns and how he talked about her with such awe. The girl in this song seems really badass like Margo too!

Happier – The Infernal Devices (Review)

Ain’t nobody hurt you like I hurt you
But ain’t nobody love you like I do
Promise that I will not take it personal baby
If you’re moving on with someone new
Cause baby you look happier, you do
My friends told me one day I’ll feel it too
And until then I’ll smile to hide the truth
But I know I was happier with you

Although this song isn’t about a love triangle, it’s about a girl who is happier with a new guy and her ex feels happy for her but sad about losing her. <spoiler> Kind of like how Will felt when Tessa and Jem got engaged and he felt happy for them but he also felt very sad for himself. <spoiler ends>

New Man – One Day (Review)

But enough about him, girl let’s talk about you
You were the type of girl that sat beside the water reading
Eating a packet of crisps but you will never find you cheating
Now you’re eating kale, hitting the gym, keeping up with Kylie & Kim

The actual plot of One Day is nothing like this song. AT ALL. But these few lines felt a bit like when Dex had changed so much and Em felt like he became a completely different person after he got his new job. (Though of course with the genders reversed haha)

Hearts Don’t Break Around Here – Fangirl (Review)

That every night I’ll kiss you you’ll say in my ear
Oh we’re in love aren’t we?
Hands in your hair, fingers and thumbs baby
I feel safe when you’re holding me near
Love the way that you conquer your fear
You know hearts don’t break around here

This is one of the sweetest songs on the album and all I could think of was Cath and Levi ❤ They are the cutest book couple of all time and this would make such great background music to their relationship.

What Do I Know? – Just Listen

We could change this whole world with a piano
Add a bass, some guitar, grab a beat
And away we go
I’m just a boy with a one-man show
No university, no degree
But lord knows everybody’s talking ’bout exponential growth
And the stock market crashing in their portfolios
While I’ll be sitting here with a song that I wrote
Saying love could change the world in a moment
But what do I know?

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen is a book where music is a very important theme and it’s what brings the two main characters together. This song is one of my favourites on the album and it’s also kind of about how music can make the world feel a little bit better than usual.

How Would You Feel (feat Paean) – Anna and the French Kiss

How would you feel, if I told you I loved you?
It’s just something that I want to do
I’ll be taking my time, spending my life
Falling deeper in love with you
So tell me that you love me too

Another great song! (They’re all fantastic :D) Though it didn’t have any allusion to Paris or anything, I could picture Etienne singing this song to Anna, I don’t know why! (Yes I know Etienne doesn’t sing – let me fantasize ok!) I love their relationship and how they fell in love through the book.

Supermarket Flowers – Slammed

When I fell down you’d be there holding me up
Spread your wings as you go
And when God takes you back
He’ll say Hallelujah, you’re home

This is the saddest song on this album and is apparently about Ed’s grandmother from his mother’s point of view. For this, I chose Slammed by Colleen Hoover. Pretty much any CoHo book would fit this because they’re all pretty sad, not gonna lie. But Slammed came to mind because it was particularly heartbreaking.

Barcelona – Isla and the Happily Ever After

You and I we’re flying on an aeroplane tonight
We’re going, somewhere where the sun is shining bright
Just close your eyes, and let’s pretend we’re dancing in the street
In Barcelona

I had a lot of issues with this book, particularly with Isla’s character, but this book did have some really beautiful moments. My favourite part was when Josh and Isla went to spend the weekend in Barcelona, so that’s obviously why I thought it would be the perfect match for this song.

Bibia Be Ye Ye – An Offer You Can’t Refuse

I lost my shoes last night
I don’t know where I put my keys
I was tired and fell asleep beneath an oak tree
I bet my mother’s proud of me from each scar upon my knuckle
And each graze upon my knee, and all I know is
I got a cab and then threw up on his car seat
He kicked me out and then I walked in the rain
I tell myself in every way I won’t be doing this again
And tomorrow’s a brand new day

This song is so upbeat and positive and optimistic about life – I LOVE IT! It reminded me a lot about Lola Malone’s character from An Offer You Can’t Refuse. She is one of my favourite fictional people and her never-give-up attitude was amazing 😀 She’s so bubbly and happy all the time that this song is a perfect fit for her!

Nancy Mulligan – Bloodlines

On the summer day when I proposed
I made that wedding ring from dentist gold
And I asked her father but her daddy said, “No
You can’t marry my daughter”

These couple of lines reminded me of Rude by Magic (another great song!) but it gave me the idea to pick a book with forbidden love. My personal favourite example of this trope is the Bloodlines series. I love Sydney and Adrian, they’re the best ❤ Their romance is cute and fun but also deep and emotional. But she’s an Alchemist and he’s a Moroi so any sort of relationship between the two is banned for life. </3

Save Myself – This Song Will Save Your Life (Review)

Offered up my shoulder just for you to cry upon
Gave you constant shelter and a bed to keep you warm
They gave me the heartache and in return I gave a song
It goes on and on

Another really great song that hit right in the feels. It’s about choosing yourself over others sometimes and honestly, not enough books have characters that put themselves first, but not in a selfish way. I chose this book because of Elise’s transformation through the book, she went from being a submissive meek girl to a more independent one who put herself first and started doing things for her own happiness.


That’s all the songs in the album! Definitely listen to them if you already haven’t – Ed Sheeran’s voice is one of the best things in the world. ❤ I had a lot of fun writing this post, hope you liked it too! It was a different way of recommending books so I enjoyed it. 🙂

-Shoto

2 thoughts on “Ed Sheeran’s ‘Divide’ & Books!

Leave a Reply

