Books · Lists

ARCs that made me feel validated as a blogger

An ARC, or an Advanced Reader Copy, is basically what the name suggests – a copy of the book provided to book bloggers for their reviews before the release of the book. Does that not sound like the best thing ever?! I was quite late to the ARC party. For the entirety of 2015 I thought only really big book bloggers can receive ARCs but no, I was wrong! If you read books and talk about them somewhere – you are eligible to receive an ARC!

I saw Christina @ My Tiny Obsessions do a post where she talked about ARCs that made her feel accomplishedย as a blogger. ย I thought it was a really great idea for a blog post so I wanted to do it too.

I only read e-ARCs which I request from NetGalley. One of my biggest achievements as a blogger is probably the fact that I maintain my NetGalley ratio above 80% almost always. (Right now it’s 90% – hope you’re jealous muahaha)ย I spend ages and ages aimlessly scrolling through the site requesting books upon books. It is honestly a problem xD I’ll be honest, I get rejected more times than I get accepted (my stats are quite awful :P) but that hasn’t disheartened me yet! Being approved to receive an ARC is a huge deal and is something I am very grateful for. This post is dedicated to the books whose ARCs I received but didn’t expect to and made me feel accomplished as a book blogger!

 

Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate

26240663

This is one of the first books I requested and the first book that I ever got approved for. I remember being really happy about it because I didn’t think I’d ever receive any ARCs. It was also a great book, one that I did genuinely enjoy so that was a plus!

Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

30960329

As soon as I read the summary, I knew this was a Wattpad book that I had read a few years ago. I love when Wattpad books are published because there are a lot of great books on the site which remain unnoticed. I thought it would be so cool to be reading something I’d already read in a different form so I was quite happy to be approved for this.

Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

30971706

I was drawn to this book because of its cover. (Isn’t it gorgeous?) On checking Goodreads, this was getting a lot of buzz because of the diversity of the characters. I requested it, not thinking I’d be approved, but was surprised to see that I was! I absolutely adored this book and later found out that the author also wrote Epic Fail, which I have only heard amazing things about. It was really great to be approved for this.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

28245707

Another book that I was drawn to solely based on the cover! (Yes, I’m quite superficial ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) After I got approved, I saw that a lot of book reviewers really enjoyed it and that a lot of readers were anticipating it because it’s about a massive geek fest #relatable It was cool to be one of the people who got to read this before it came out. (It was amazing, btw!)

Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran

25705800

I’ve been sent books by authors before but the first time a publisher ever sent me an ARC directly was for this book. I was so excited to receive the email from Ebury Publishing saying that they sent me the ARC for this book via NetGalley even though I hadn’t even requested it!

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

31447601

After Seven Ways We Lie, I was super excited for Riley Redgate’s sophomore novel which is basically Pitch Perfect meets She’s The Man – what’s not to love? Unfortunately, when I went to request it, I saw the little note that is put around a lot of books that says ‘Members from X country preferred’ with the respective flag of the countries. I didn’t think I’d be approved because I’m not from any of those countries, but to my surprise, I was! It was so great to be approved for both of her books because she’s such a fantastic author. I love this story so much!


lets-chat

What are some ARCs that made you feel accomplished as bloggers? Have you read any of these books?

11 thoughts on “ARCs that made me feel validated as a blogger

  1. I was approved for Noteworthy, queens of geek, and Thing I should’ve known and I love them all so much! I was so excited to read them I just sped through them, such great stories ๐Ÿ˜€ I haven’t read Seven ways we lie but as soon as I finished Noteworthy I added it to my tbr xD Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right? Higher than what my boards percentage is going to be xD Don’t know whether to laugh or cry ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree that getting ARC’s makes you feel like you’re doing something important. I’m so passionate about reviews as they help people find books more suited to their reading tastes, so I’m elated to help promote books to other readers. I recently read Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (SOOOOOOO incredible BTW!), Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan (best adult fantasy I’ve ever read), and You’re Welcome Universe by Whitney Gardner (best contemporary i’ve read in years). To me it’s not about the free books, although that’s obviously a positive. I just like feeling like I’m making a difference in the bookish world!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally understand! The free part aspect is great but ARCs just make me feel a bit more important, like you mentioned. It does feel like making a difference to the publishing industry!
      I’m so excited for Strange the Dreamer! Laini Taylor is such an amazing writer ๐Ÿ˜ Haven’t heard of Sins of Empire (and tbh not a big fan of adult fantasy!) I’ve heard amazing things about You’re Welcome Universe so I’m excited for that too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

