Books · Lists · memes · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Reasons the Harry Potter fandom is the best thing ever

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Visit their blog for more details on how to participate.

This week’s topic is a fandom themed freebie so I wanted to talk about the first ever fandom I was ever a part of, Harry Potter of course! I read the series when I was ten and have been obsessed with it ever since. I’ve read each book at least 20 times and Half-Blood Prince and Goblet of Fire even more because they were my favourites. This is one of the first stories that made me feel so immersed in the world and genuinely care and fear for its characters. I may have cried a little bit on my 11th birthday…

Though this was my first fandom, it remains one of the best and one of my favourites to be a part of. Here are the top ten (there are many more!) reasons why:

1. Almost everyone is a part of it.

I have made so many friends, online and in real life, because of a mutual love for HP. Everyone has heard of it, most people have watched the movies, if not read the books – it’s a great way of making friends. If you haven’t read Harry Potter yet – stop reading this now and pick up Philosopher’s Stone. Now. Do it. Thank me later.

2. So many characters = so much fanfic potential

By fanfics, I don’t just mean long books on Wattpad, oh no, I’ve read so many short headcanons and letters from someone to someone. Some made me lol and others made me tear up.

3. THE INFINITE JOKES AND LOLs

If you’re in the HP fandom, you have without a doubt, read some jokes about Voldemort’s nose (or lack thereof xD) but there are also so many Marauders jokes and in general, a lot of HP related humour.

4. Diversity of the fandom

By this I don’t mean in race or religion (though diversity in that aspect exists too!), there are so many people who literally grew up as Harry grew up and so this series means an awful lot to them. There are also people like me who picked up the series a while after the last book was published. Everyone in this fandom is of different ages yet we still relate to and understand these characters and this world and so, feel connected despite vast age differences.

5.Β Interesting analyses of characters

It’s been a while since we’ve had an HP book (Cursed Child does not count) so all we have left is to analyze and think about all the “what if”s in this series. For example, at the end of book seven, I thought Severus Snape was a hero but now, after reading a lot of detailed posts about him, I realize he was a bully and though he cared about Lily, that doesn’t excuse how he mentally abused his students.

6. Coolest Merch ever!!1!

Image result for harry potter merch collection

I want this room.

7. Everyone has a different story tied to the series

This ties in with point 4 – everyone has different stories and memories attached to this series which I find really interesting to listen to πŸ™‚

8. THERE IS AN ENTIRE THEME PARK DEDICATED TO THIS BOOK SERIES.

Image result for harry potter florida

Related image

Image result for harry potter florida rides

‘Nuff said.

9. An incredible attention to detail (and ability to nitpick)

Image result for did you put your name in the goblet of fire
#NeverForget

10. Kept the magic alive ❀

It’s been 10 years since the last book and 6 years since the last movie but people are still obsessed with this book series. Some may call it obsessive, I call it magical. ❀

Image result for always harry potter gif


Do you like Harry Potter? What’s your house? Let me know!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons the Harry Potter fandom is the best thing ever

  1. AWO;EIJRAS this post is so amazing and it’s such a good idea! I also love how everyone has a story about Harry Potter, and we can learn so much from listening from different ones; but then also the fans have so much in common too! I also think it’s fun to nitpick the movies; we were all critical, letzbehonest. That discrepancy between Dumbledore and Harry in the movie vs. the book can NEVER be overlooked.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Feel free to do something like this too since there are probably a lot more reasons πŸ˜€
      That’s one of my favourite parts about this fandom – we’re all different but we’ve found common ground in HP.
      Ahahah I nitpick the movies all the time πŸ˜‚ There’s so much great content they missed out on!

      Like

  2. awww yea we all cry on our 11th birthday :’} ah well actually did you know Voldemort is to blame? Apparently he erased the records of muggleborn magical children born 1985-1998 ! Damn you voldemort… Apparently im a Gryffinpuff πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m born in 99 so that doesn’t make me feel much better πŸ˜‚
      GryffinPuff is the ideal best of both worlds combination πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Perfect reasons why this will forever be the best series in the history of time ❀ I feel like the humor is particularly distinctive – so many popular series I read now just don't have the ability to make me lol like HP did. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In addition to having funny characters like Fred and George, everyone always said funny things and the Fandom has made hundreds of jokes and lols about everyone by now πŸ˜‚

      Like

    1. Yes it’s totally evolved into a culture haha. Though it’s been so long the Fandom is still alive and kicking πŸ˜›

      Like

  4. Harry Potter really is the best fandom! It’s just so big and diverse that it can support every type of fan and headcanon with ease. As for Houses, I’m a Hufflepuff, so I was really excited about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

