Books · Discussion · Lists · Reviews

Vampire Academy – the good and the bad

I first read the Vampire Academy books in early 2015 and I’ve been wanting to reread them for a while. I finally got around to rereading them this year when I was in a bit of a reading slump because they’re so fast paced and fun to read (however, they kind of left me in a slump again so I don’t know how useful that was…). In 2015, I wrote a post trying to review the entire series in a single post so it’s a bit all over the place. Now, since I’ve started taking proper notes while reading, I thought I’d re-review the series. When I first read it, I thought it was fantastic and flawless and I loved everything but now that I’ve read a lot more books in the past two years, I realize that it’s still great, but it does have a few flaws.

The Good

  • Great characters – I still stand by the fact that this series has some amazing characters. Since it spans over six books, they all undergo a lot of development and growth. It’s nice to see them all change through the series. If you’ve only read the first book and find the characters a bit nauseating, please continue on because they do get a lot better!
  • Plot twists – Since this was a reread, the twists didn’t come as much of a shock but I will say that every single book has a twist and you really need to expect the unexpected with this series. Richelle Mead knows how to keep a reader hooked.
  • IT’S FUNNYYY – The dialogue in this book is simply fantastic. Rose Hathaway is one of the most entertaining characters I have ever read. Her and Adrian kept me laughing throughout but the other characters too had their moments.
  • The love interests – Dimitri and Adrian are very different characters but they’re both great in their own ways. Dimitri is a more atypical love interest as he’s more somber and less reckless but he’s very interesting. Adrian is dripping with charm and charisma, second only to Will and Jace Herondale. Both were very sweet and caring to Rose and they were a nice addition to the story.
  • Russian culture – Though set in the US, the vampire culture in this novel is of Russian origin. One of my favourite things about reading books is that we can find out so much about the world through books and from this series, I learnt a lot about Russian culture. From food and architecture to their unique style of nicknaming people – I found it very fascinating and loved reading about it!
  • Rose and Lissa’s bond – In my first read, I didn’t wholly appreciate the significance of their bond but in my reread, I realized how important it was and what a smart addition to the story! For those of you who don’t know, Lissa and Rose share a one-way bond which allows Rose access to Lissa’s mind – her thoughts and feelings – as and when she likes however, Lissa cannot access Rose’s mind. Apart from this helpful for Rose to find Lissa when she was in danger, Richelle Mead was able to write the entire seriesΒ in first person instead of having to shift to dual POV. It was also a lot of fun to read Rose’s commentary on Lissa’s thoughts and feels.
  • Great chapter openers and last lines – This is a bit of a weird point but I noticed that every chapter in this series has a very strong first line and a very mysterious/cliffhanger-y last line. It added to the reading experience and made the story all the more addictive. πŸ˜€

The Not So Good

  • Editing problems – I thought it could have been just mistakes in my eBook version but on reading a few reviews on Goodreads, a lot of people seem to have noticed a few spelling issues and other little mistakes. That obviously doesn’t take away from the story but it made it seem a little less polished.
  • Tense issues – This bothered me a little bit because it’s something I struggle with while writing too. I constantly flit between past and present unknowingly but it looks really bad when I read it. I found that there were some parts where the story went from present to past tense and again, it doesn’t affect the story but it doesn’t look good.
  • Repetition – I understand repetition for emphasis but in these books, a single word or a single line is repeated multiple times and it was just a little bit annoying.
  • Lissa – In the ‘good’ part, I talked about how great all the characters were but Lissa is the only one I really couldn’t stand. She can’t access Rose’s feelings because of their one way bond but she was Rose’s best friend yet she couldn’t tell when Rose was upset or sad until really late in the books. Though Rose is vain about her looks, Lissa is oblivious to the world around her if it doesn’t affect her. As the books progressed I liked her more and more, but she was unbearable in the start.
  • The use of “blood whore” – Blood whore is the term used for women or men dhampirs (the half human/half vampire guardians) who allow their Moroi (the vampires with magic powers) partners to drink blood from them. It’s a term used offensively and the act of letting someone drink your blood is seen as disgusting. Rose has let her Moroi friends as well as her Moroi boyfriend drink from her yet she still uses the term as it’s something disgusting when she engaged in the very same activity herself. I found that quite hypocritical. Also, calling people “blood whore” felt a lot like slut shaming. I didn’t like that.

Let's chat (1)

All said and done, I still love this series and it’s definitely one of my favourites! Have you read this series? Do you like it?

7 thoughts on “Vampire Academy – the good and the bad

  1. I loved this series! I was hesitant to read them at first because I was so over the whole vampire craze, however this series is so different to other vamp series. Rose is a great character, I love her sense of humour and wit. I felt so sad for her with the whole Dimitri thing…it was such a horrible thing to watch her go through!! I am completely with you when it comes to Lissa. It’s funny because I recently did a list of characters that annoyed me, and she was on it haha! I don’t know, I feel like she was the weakest character…she was a bit precious and that really irked me.

    You have now made me want to go and re-read this series!! Did you read the spin-off series with Sydney and Adrian?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love how this series has a completely unique set of vampires, different from the stereotypical types!
      Ugh yes! Rose is so great and it was so sad seeing her lose Dimitri but her quest to get him back was also super badass so that was cool πŸ˜›
      I know right? Everyone in the book worships Lissa so much but Rose is so much cooler! Also, Lissa didn’t stand up for Rose as much as she should have… Maybe part of it was because Rose was a guardian but they were supposed to be best friends too!
      This series is a lot of fun – hope you enjoy it if you reread πŸ˜€ I have read Bloodlines too but I don’t like it as much as VA ❀ It’s great, but there wasn’t enough Rose 😜

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Adrian is always great 😝 I didn’t like Jill much though… Lissa in the movie was even worse than in the books xD It sucks that a movie version of Frostbite never happened though because I’m sure a lot more people would have enjoyed the series after Adrian showed up 😍

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

