Discussion · Miscellaneous

13 Reasons Why Spoiler-y Discussion

When I was watching the show, I knew I wanted to write a review of it so I decided to take notes while watching it, but the notes eventually became a sort of commentary on what was happening in the show and I obviously couldn’t talk about everything that happened in the review so I decided to write this separate post which is just a long list of my opinions on everything that was happening in the show. It’s a bit all over the place but I wrote so much while watching that I wanted to document it somewhere haha. I’ve edited them a lot because they were all in short forms and made them into proper sentences here. Enjoy the mess that is my thoughts! 😛
  • Great acting
  • Trying to make it modern with Google Maps references etc but could have left it in 2010
  • Changed timeline a bit
  • I like that they don’t all look perfect – they still look like high schoolers.
  • I’m glad Selena Gomez didn’t play Hannah cos Kathryn Langford is fkn perfect as Hannah ❤
  • Hannah is a lot more quirky and funny – she has more personality in the show than in the book – past scenes are way more fun cos they’re in Hannah’s pov more than Clay’s.
  • Doesn’t happen all in one night like in the book I guess…
  • Clay is a lot closer to Hannah in the show so he was probably a bigger reason for her death.
  • Relationship with Clay’s parents is more developed
  • Why is Tony so creepy in this omg
  • Alternates between past and present very randomly but it still works
  • Diverse cast
  • Distorted storylines from the book a lot.
  • All the characters are more developed, so much more than just one night. Its definitely just inspired by 13RW. A lot more story to this.
  • Hannah is more victimized in the book because it’s just her side of the story but in the show we see everyone else’s point of view too.
  • “Olly olly oxen free” becomes “FML” wtf 😂😂😂
  • Alex is a great character and feels genuine regret about the list. </3
  • Clay is listening to these sooo slowly OMG GET ON WITH IT.
  • Biggest issue that past and present are not clearly distinguished because Clay bikes to the place but he’s not actually there??? I got a bit confused at times.
  • Characters and dialogue very real
  • Very little tape, way more present.
  • “Everything affects everything” gave me chills.
  • The Courtney plot is new and very different making Hannah’s reasons worse and more legit. Courtney’s plot is also more realistic.
  • So much backstory to Tyler. I understand him more but I still think he’s a creep.
  • Clay’s dreams and hallucinations are scary
  • Clay is more intense and badass in this – being Tyler to Tyler was not a book Clay thing to do…
  • Hannah’s parents have a way bigger involvement which is great – I really hope they win the lawsuit!
  • Really gets into the repercussions of suicide
  • Made the story really complex
  • Justin and Bryce are terrible I HATE THEM!!!!!!!
  • So unfair that everyone’s ganging up on Tyler but protecting Bryce. Really? -_-
  • It’s clearly affecting Alex a lot.
  • “you can’t touch us” are you fucking kidding me???!!!!! – genuinely horrified that people like this exist.
  • Open up to your parents more Clay 😦
  • Zack was genuinely nice – Hannah was way too guarded with him. It’s both their faults in this one but Zack was very very petty.
  • Everyone better gang up on Justin cos oh my God what is wrong with him. “let’s make it look like a suicide” HE GENUINELY WANTED TO KILL CLAY.
  • It sometimes kind of feels like Hannah was looking for reasons to die because she was already convinced she wanted to kill herself.
  • What is up with Zack’s mom? She just came to brag about her son. ._.
  • They all came to break Tyler’s window but nothing for Justin, Bryce, Courtney etc
  • Zacks home life sucks but he’s still an asshole. I feel bad for him but I also don’t?
  • The Skye plot is nice.
  • Hannah is ACTUALLY blaming Clay for leaving when he tried to stay AND she told him to go. Thankfully she said he shouldn’t be on the list – clarifies that he’s the best guy. She’s just looking for reasons to kill herself now…
  • Don’t blame yourself Clay 😥
  • When someone decides to die you can’t change their mind no matter how much you think you could have. It sucks that Hannah even put Clay on the tapes when he didn’t do anything bad to her because it’s destroying him.
  • Maybe if he had stayed things would have been different but Hannah didn’t want things to be different. Otherwise she would have let him stay.
  • Bryce is a piece of shit. I can’t believe he actually thought she wanted to have sex with him wow ok he needs help.
  • Didn’t think she was dead until they show her killing herself. Mom’s disbelief is heartbreaking. Really intense scene.
  • WTF is Tyler doing with guns?!
  • Why did Jessica lie…
  • Did Alex shoot himself…? Did Tyler kill him…
  • WHAT HAPPENED TO THE LAWSUIT?!
  • Clay and Skye should be bffs again
  • The last scene looks surprisingly happy?

 

8 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why Spoiler-y Discussion

  1. Ok this is awesome and pretty much everything I was thinking too! I felt bad Clay was put on the tapes. He’s an awkward 16 year old with no experience with girls…I don’t think it’s fair for her to blame him. Plus she pushed him away, he just respected her enough to listen when she told him to leave. And omg…I feel like Tyler did shoot Alex! He took his pic down and left the rest…suss as!!

    Like

  2. Wow you posted soooo many things so I’m not going to talk about everything in your list. But the main things I got away from the show was that small, little things can build up and create a huge, devastating effect. If you look completely objectively, apart from Bryce’s act, none of the other reasons were even worth THINKING about committing suicide over. None. But the problem was that everything happened to her together and it just built up to have such an effect.
    I know it seems like Hannah was looking for reasons, but I think that’s what the show teaches you – that don’t be mean even in small ways because you don’t know what a person is going through and that small thing could be a HUGE deal to that person.
    I don’t blame Clay at all. At least for that incident during the party. I wish he had acted upon his love, because the show shows how it’s not just what people do, but also what people DON’T do that can cause hurt. But that night, when Hannah pushed him away and told him to leave, he was absolutely innocent.
    I don’t blame Zach either, even though he was petty. But we all behave in petty ways sometimes out of spite.
    Also, the guy who published the poem. He wasn’t at too much fault. I hated what Justin did but his back story was terrible too.
    Anyway, I’m going to stop typing now 😂

    Like

  3. This is so random of me to comment but I have to tell you that I just came across your blog and that I love it! Honestly, you have a lovely website here and I am so happy I have discovered it! I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I do have a Twitter. It’s booksandblah. Don’t use it very much though haha. What’s yours? I’d love to follow you as well 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

