Books · Lists · memes · Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Things That’ll Make Me Pick A Book Up

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s theme is ten things that will instantly make me want to read a book.

1. Set in Europe

I am trash for anything set in any part of Europe. I don’t know why but I just love reading books set in the continent. Whether it’s Italy, France, Germany or Russia – if it’s set in Europe, it’s probably on my TBR.

Recommendations – Anna and the French Kiss, Love & Gelato, Mark of Athena

2. Magic school

Apart from Hogwarts, I haven’t read too many books set in a magic school but whenever I find one, I definitely pick it up! I like to pretend my school is one of them so then it’ll suck less!

Recommendations – Harry Potter (of course), Hex Hall, Magisterium

3. Road trip

I LOVE BOOKS WITH ROAD TRIPS SO MUCH!!! They’re such a fun time but the characters also have really deep, meaningful conversations and find out a lot more about themselves and they travel to new places and just WHAT’S NOT TO LOVE?

Recommendations – Paper Towns, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, Let’s Get Lost

4. Mythology

I have always been very fascinated by Indian mythology and love listening to mythological stories. Through books, I’ve learnt a lot about the different myths from different countries as well.

Recommendations – Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus, Trials of Apollo, Magnus Chase (anything Rick Riordan writes basically xD), Myths & Legends series, The Star Touched Queen

5. Mental Health

Lately, I’ve read a lot of books about different mental health issues and reading them has definitely opened up my eyes to a lot of things I didn’t know before. I feel like reading about mental illnesses via literature and feeling what the characters are feeling has been very educational for me, and I’ve learnt far more than I would have from a textbook. It’s definitely made me a lot more aware about issues I didn’t know about before.

Recommendations – Am I Normal Yet?, My Heart and Other Black Holes, A Quiet Kind of Thunder

6. Low fantasy

I find it so much fun reading about how authors try to hide their worlds from the humans of the world. It sometimes makes me question whether they actually exist and I have just been oblivious all my life???!!

Recommendations – Harry Potter (obviously), The Shadowhunter Chronicles, Vampire Academy

7. Retellings

I absolutely adore fairytale retellings! It’s so much fun to see how every author gives the classic tales their own spin and make really amazing stories by using the original story as a base.

Recommendations – The Lunar Chronicles, Heartless, Geekerella, A Court of Thorns and Roses

8. Geeky characters / Characters who are in a fandom

Aka 100% RELATABLE AF CHARACTERS. I love seeing characters flail and squeal and have ALL THE FEELS about something they’re passionate about! Extra points if they write fan fiction πŸ˜‰

Recommendations – Fangirl, Queens of Geek, Geekerella

9. AΒ Friend’s Recommendation

Most of my friends are not big readers so when they recommend a book to me that they liked and think I’ll like, I will definitely read it! My theory is that if a book made a non-reader want to read, it has to be a good book, right? (I have a 50% success rate with this one xD) But in general, whenever someone recommends a book to me, I always try to read it!

10. A blurb by an author I love

As much as I love my friends, I love my favourite authors a lot more (sorry guys). If an author who I look up to or whose books I enjoy says that they liked a book, I will definitely read it. I trust their opinions and usually, books that authors endorse are pretty great! πŸ˜€


Let's chat (1)

That’s all for my list! What are some of your bookish buzzwords?

11 thoughts on “Ten Things That’ll Make Me Pick A Book Up

  1. Great list! I love books about mental illness too. When they’re done right, they give an insight into mental illness that’s hard to get through any other medium because you’re literally in that person’s head. It’s definitely a good way to educate people who’re not aware to what extend it affects a person’s day-to-day life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mental health is quite often brushed aside so I’m really enjoying reading books that talk about it. I’ll be honest, I didn’t think OCD and mutism were legitimate issues until I read books that explained them. It’s a lot easier to empathize with characters when we’re reading from their point of view.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Author blurbs usually get me, too, especially if it’s from a favourite author of mine like Neil Gaiman or Sophie Kinsella! And I forgot to include road trip books in my list – I love them! I’m like you, I just love all travel books — probably because I’m such a homebody, I love to live vicariously through other people traveling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Sophie Kinsella too!
      Road trip novels were on a lot of lists – they’re just so much fun to read!
      Haha that’s one of the things I love about reading. I can go to so many different places without leaving my bedroom πŸ˜‰ I would love to travel to all the places but it’s just not possible at this point in time so books will have to do πŸ˜›

      Like

    1. The Haters by Jesse Andrews is a great road trip novel if you like really funny, mishap-y roadtrip novels. The Land of 10,000 Madonnas by Kate Hattemer is a great roadtrip novels if you like the finding yourself, adventure-y ones. 😊 I’m such a sucker for a good roadtrip story.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I love Jesse Andrews! Never heard of The Haters though, I’ll check it out πŸ˜€
        Thanks for the recommendations. Road trip stories are great. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

