Books · Miscellaneous

Books I Want To Write Someday Soon. Maybe. (Hopefully!)

Like so many other readers, I have a dream to one day see a book that I’ve written on the shelf of a bookshop. I’ve always liked to write, but I don’t think I’m a very good writer. I’m not trying to be modest or anything, I’m just not great at translating things from my head onto a page (or computer screen because #technology) and I know that.

The advice that everyone seems to give aspiring writers is to keep writing because of course, practice makes perfect. For someone who wants to write a book, I don’t really write a lot. The longest things I’ve ever written are short stories and blog posts and I haven’t written short stories in a while now. I have this notebook full of ideas for a potential novel and I just thought hey, why not actually write one of them? Not with the intention of publishing it or anything (maybe someday!) but because I want to write a book to know if I can, if that makes any sense.

I’m between three ideas and am kind of confused as to what to write so I decided to ask for your help! I don’t know how to make online polls and stuff so just let me know in the comments which one you like most. A little disclaimer – all of these are not extremely original ideas and I’m sure books with very similar concepts exist. These are just the stories that I think will be easy to write, and like I said earlier, be good practice. 🙂

1. A fantasy book about dreams

In the last year, I’ve been having dreams where I realize I’m dreaming while I’m still asleep. I think that’s called lucid dreaming but I’m not really sure. Anyway, I wanted to write about how some people can actually enter different worlds in their dreams. I’m debating whether to make it something like a girl realizes she has this ability and is taken to a school for other people with the same ability but that sounds a lot like Harry Potter so I’m not really sure. The basic concept is that while dreaming, people enter different worlds. That is all.

(I did a really bad job explaining that, didn’t I? xD)

2. A contemporary about two friends who make a list of things to do in high school and them trying to complete it.

This one was kind of inspired by this really lame list my best friend and I made when we were eleven about things to do before we’re 16 (I don’t think I actually did any of them xD) I think this would be a lot of fun to write and read. Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid has a similar concept but that’s a list of things they said they wouldn’t do and this would be a list of things to do before high school ends sooo it’s different.

3. A contemporary book with the friends-to-lovers trope because it’s my fave

The title kind of explained it all but basically this would be a cliche YA contemporary about two different people (not the hot popular male jock falls for pretty-but-doesn’t-realise-it female MC – it’s not thaaat cliche) who get paired up to do a project or something that makes them a lot closer and realize that they’re not that different after all. Or that they’re very different but opposites attract. Something like that. This would also have family and friendship as an important theme and be a very character driven story.


So these are some of my ideas for books I want to write someday soon. I’ve never written a story more than 3000 words but these seem like stories that would be easy to write so would be good practice? I don’t know anything about writing books, as you can obviously tell 😛 Let me know in the comments which idea you like best!

10 thoughts on “Books I Want To Write Someday Soon. Maybe. (Hopefully!)

    1. Yeah! But not always? Sometimes I have normal dreams and sometimes I don’t idk my dream patterns are very weird 😂
      Oh that’s cool! I don’t think I’ve ever really read a book focused around dreams so it’ll be quite fun to read / write 😀 Best of luck with your story 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

