Books · Lists · Miscellaneous · Ramble

Confessions of a Bibliophile

When I first made this blog, it was titled ‘Confessions of a Bibliophile.’ I titled it that because I wanted it to sound like Confessions of a Shopaholic or Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen which are both movies I love. However, I didn’t really confess…anything? At all. Ever. xD Though I have a new title now, I thought it would be interesting to do a post confessing things I have never admitted before (related to being a bibliophile of course!)Β I couldn’t think of anything to post and this was the first thing I thought of. Quality content always, am I right?

Confessions of a Bibliophile

#1

I almost cried when a friend who borrowed my copy of Prisoner of Azkaban tore a bit of the cover.

#2

Sometimes, I act like I’ve read a book even though I have no clue what it’s about.

#3

I wrote my first “book” when I was 7. It was written, illustrated and published by moi. It was titled ‘Adventures of Carly, Marlee and Darcy’ (I was very creative with the names.) I tried to convince my neighbour to buy it for ten rupees.

#4

For a long time, I used to use long words that I found in books while talking to people in school.Β Basically, I was a pretentious little shit.

#5

Once, when I couldn’t think of what to write for a story writing assignment, I got “inspired” by a book that I had read (aka wrote the story in my own words). My teacher loved it. But I felt kind of guilty so I told her it wasn’t original. She was really, really disappointed. :/

#6

I absolutely HATE it when someone borrows a book for a very long time, returns it only after I ask for it a million times and say “I didn’t get the time to read it” when they return it after like 28329 years. :]

#7

When I was 8, my best friend and I decided to make our bookshelves into libraries because together, we had a lot of books. We thought it would be a great way to make money and even had a bunch of “business” meetings. Nobody wanted a membership. :/

#8

In fourth grade, a story I wrote came out in the school newsletter. For a month, I introduced myself as a journalist. *facepalm*

#9

My friend and I created a magazine in the 3rd grade highlighting our ‘problems’ as 8 year olds and how we could fix them. We both got certificates for it xD


So that’s all of my ‘confessions.’ Nothing scandalous at all haha πŸ˜› All you found out is that I was an ambitious 8 year old!

I’m sorry for sort of disappearing for a bit. My phone stopped working this week and I had so many of my drafts and blog post ideas saved on it but they weren’t backed up. On top of that, my laptop had gone for servicing so I couldn’t really write anything. :/ Now my laptop’s back and I’m going to remember all the things on my ‘blog post’ list and this time back it up!!!

Hope you’re having a lovely week ❀

15 thoughts on “Confessions of a Bibliophile

  1. #4, your are definitely not alone on that one, I clearly was also a pretentious little shit πŸ™‚
    #5 I actually did something very similar, I wrote a creative writing essay that I was super proud of and got an A for , only to realise a while later that it was pretty much a combination of the two books I was writing at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess we get so engrossed in the stories that we subconsciously (or in my case, consciously) incorporate them into our own writing. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried #7 myself as a kid, and while nobody went for it, I had a wonderful time creating all the library cards and cataloging information. πŸ˜›
    For #5, I think if I’d been your teacher I’d have given you two awards: one for creative thinking, and one for confessing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m quite sure i still have my excel sheets full of information about all my books haha xD
      That’s sweet but I think it still counts as plagiarism. πŸ˜›

      Like

    1. Ahaha that’s so cute! :”) I’ve had so many bad experiences with lending out books that I’ve stopped letting people borrow my books – no question of a library anymore πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that you and your friend made a library! lol. I have so many books and live in a small subdivision that I still wonder if I could make money off of lending my books, but then I realize I hate lending my books out. And totally on #1 … I bought a new paperback the other day and a hardcover and the hardcover fell against the paperback and bent the cover a bit. I’m still sad about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To lend books or not to lend books? The dilemma πŸ˜› I’ve stopped lending books too, except maybe to a few close friends.
      I absolutely hate when paperbacks get bent! I know it doesn’t affect the content of the book at all but it still makes me sad πŸ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply

