Books · Lists

My Favourite Standalones

This is a post for people with commitment issues. I understand that sometimes you want to read a great book but not 7 or 8 in a series. I totally relate. As much as I love book series, sometimes I like having the book start and end as a complete arc in one go because waiting for succeeding books is AGONIZING. Here are some of my absolute favourite stand-alone books!

standalonez

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347

This book. Wow. Mind = Blown. I’ve never read anything quite like this before and I don’t think I ever will. If you haven’t read this yet, I recommend going in without not knowing anything. BUT THAT PLOT TWIST THOUGH.

An Offer You Can’t Refuse by Jill Mansell

2596345

I have read this so many times I’ve honestly lost count. This is about a girl named Lola whose boyfriend’s mother offers her 10k to break up with him. The story picks up ten years later when their paths intertwine again. It’s such a fun read and I was laughing throughout. Lola is one of my favourite characters and Jill Mansell’s writing is just wonderful. I love this!

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994

This book is beautiful and heartbreaking, all at once. It features such a real cast of characters. The writing is just divine. I can never rave about this enough ❀

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

12813630

Is it just me or are there very few fantasy standalones that exist? This one is one of my absolute favourites. The concept, the execution, the characters – everything was just perfect. It was so fun to read and also so interesting to read. I really want to read more by Holly Black!

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

6482837

I loved this book so much! It’s something that I think every teenager/school going human should read. Don’t want to give anything about the story away but I have a full review over here. πŸ™‚

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

9969571

I SHARE A NAME WITH ONE OF THE CHARACTERS!!! Do you know how often that happens? NEVER. So what if he’s a Japanese man and I’m an Indian girl – it still counts, right? xD Jokes apart – one of the best books I have ever read. It was full of awesome characters, had such an interesting world and a great storyline. Everything was so intricate and detailed – loved it!


Let's chat (1)

Do you prefer reading series or standalones? What are your favourite standalone novels?

12 thoughts on “My Favourite Standalones

    1. Yes you do! But don’t keep trying to guess what it is while reading cos you might figure it out xD
      I’ll Give You The Sun is so beautiful :”) Haven’t read anything else by Jandy Nelson though… probably should xD

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great list, Shoto! I’ve added We Were Liars and Ready Player One to my TBR stack (never seems to get any shorter, does it?). I do love the way a series allows you to spend more time in the world the author has created, but stand-alones have a different kind of pacing that I also enjoy. My favorite stand-alone is also my favorite book of all time: The Enemy Papers, by Barry Longyear. But only check that one out if you like science fiction. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yes, TBR mountain seems to be more accurate right? πŸ˜›
      I completely agree! Both series and stand-alones have their charm. I don’t like when series drag on for too long though – there are some book series that can really be condensed!
      Thanks for the recommendation πŸ™‚ I like sci-fi so I’ll be sure to check it out πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

