Books · Lists · memes · Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Things I Want More Of In Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is ‘Things you want to see more of in books’


1. Strong female friendships

I’ve read too many books which portray girls hating girls and talking bad about other girls and I find that really annoying. I want to read more books where girls support each other and talk to each other about things other than boys and love.

Image result for little mix hugging gif

2. Female/Male friendships

As much as I love the friends-to-lovers trope, I’d like to see more platonic male/female friendships in YA lit. They’re actually very rare!

Image result for boy and girl best friend gif

3. Only children

As an only child, I must say that we are very underrepresented in literature. I love reading about sibling relationships but I feel so alone after reading them and cannot relate cos I have no siblings. I want to read more books about only children and their lives. WE’RE NOT ALL SPOILED BRATS I PROMISE!!1!

4. Fleshed out side characters

Side characters get overlooked so often and it’s so sad. :/ They’re important to the story and they deserve to have personalities, not just be there to advance the plot!

5. Plot twists that will make me go WHOA WHAT THE FUCK JUST HAPPENED HERE

Maybe it’s because I’ve read a lot of books but so many of the stories I read feel very predictable to me now. In my notes, I usually call the ‘plot twists’ and when they happen, I feel kinda awesome for knowing what happened but also a bit disappointed because nothing is better than that feeling after reading a shocking ending and going WHAT HOW WHEN WHERE.

Image result for omg wtf gif

6. Couples being cute and couple-y

Too many YA contemporary books show the inception of a relationship but end when they get together. I like having an epilogue or a few chapters of just seeing the couple being cute and swooning at all the sweetness ❤ and then crying about being forever alone myself.

Image result for victoria justice hugged gif

7. DIVERSITY

I’m so happy that there is more representation of minorities in literature now but there can still be so SO much more, so I wanted to mention diversity here! 🙂

8. Mental illnesses like mutism and anxiety

Like I’ve said in previous posts, reading about mental illnesses has really opened my eyes and I’d like to read more books with representation of mutism and anxiety because these are two that I don’t really understand much.

9. Magic schools

I need a Hogwarts part 2. Pls.

Image result for hogwarts gif

10. Students actually studying

So many of the books I read are set in high school/college but very few actually show the students studying. WHAT IS THIS NONSENSE?! As a student myself, I find this so unrealistic. I want to see people worrying about grades and college and being frustrated by the amount of work we have. That’s so much more relatable. Almost everyone my age prioritizes academics so why are characters my age exempt from this?? WE MUST ALL SUFFER TOGETHER.

Image result for studying gif

Image result for studying gif

Image result for studying gif

Image result for studying for finals gif

Image result for studying gif

(I have two exams to go so I went a bit overboard with the studying gifs cos they’re too relatable for me right now. Sorry not sorry :P)

Let's chat (1)

What are some things you want to see more of in books? Do you agree with any of the things I said? Let me know!

20 thoughts on “Ten Things I Want More Of In Books

  1. Totally agree about your last point! One of the reasons why I love the Harry Potter books so much was when they tell about the daily lives at Hogwarts, Harry and Ron and Hermione doing their homework at the common room, etc. Those weren’t depicted in the movies and that’s why I love the books more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I distinctly remember there being parts where Harry and Ron made up their Divination homework xD The books mentioned a lot of the everyday school happenings but the movies were just about the action bits. The books were just so much more immersive!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely would love to see more stories about friendship! Enough with the mean girls and the rivalries over boys – girls need to support each other, because heaven knows there are enough outside forces trying to bring women down without us turning on each other!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! Well said ❤
      Most of my best friends are girls but so many books portray girl friendships negatively and that's so inaccurate and disheartening.

      Like

  3. Yes to strong female friendships!!! and also studying… it’s like my biggest pet peeve when characters don’t study but still ace everything???
    Also you should try Pierce Brown and Patrick Ness for plot twists, if you like dystopian/sci-fi!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh yess they study nothing but still do really well but um, that’s not how it works???
      Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve been meaning to read Red Rising for a long time 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

