Books · Reviews

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han // Will leave you craving cake and Peter Kavinsky

303128604.5 stars

-spoilers for To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S I Still Love You-

Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?


As a huge fan of this series, I had to read it immediately after it came out and I was not disappointed at all! After reading Louise‘s post about rereading the first two books in the series, I also reread them before starting this. If you haven’t read this yet, I recommend you do that before reading this because I had forgotten so much of what happened so it was nice to have that to refresh my memory. Also, Lara Jean and Peter are so cute together that it’s totally worth the reread, I promise! ❤

This story felt like one final love letter from Jenny Han to us fans of the series. With Lara Jean and her friends going to college, her father getting married, the whole book revolves around the themes of endings and new beginnings so it was a perfect way to conclude this series.

“I guess that’s part of growing up, too–saying goodbye to the things you used to love.”

Since I marathon-ed the whole series, I did notice that Lara Jean grew up so much in this book. The shy introverted girl is gone and the new and improved, more confident and less insecure Lara Jean was such a delight to read. Though she’s still the quirky, geeky baker we all fell in love with. (I still crave cake though i finished this book last week…) I thought she was a lot more mature in this book and is becoming more of her own person and less of Margot’s shadow. Lara Jean is such a well developed character with such a strong, fun narrative voice. As with the other two books, I thoroughly enjoyed reading from her point of view here as well! The writing is fantastic and so easy to dive into. I flew through this in just a few sittings.

The Song family remains one of my all time favourite fictional families. The father is such a wonderful man and I am so happy that he’s finally getting remarried! The proposal was so freaking cute!!! Kitty also grew up a lot through these books. She’s not as petty as before, but that’s expected as she is growing up. She was still so much fun to read! Margot surprised me a bit in this book because she was quite petulant at times. We saw a different side to her personality, which was interesting. The overall dynamic of the family remains the same – loving, supportive and very warm. Reading about their family just makes me feel happy.

I was expecting John Ambrose to be a bigger part of the story, but he wasn’t. I like his character a lot and I’m happy that Jenny Han showed us that he’s okay even after Lara Jean picked Peter over him in the previous book.

Peter Kavinsky is such a sweetheart. He’s the sweetest, most caring fictional boyfriend I have ever read. Where can I find a Peter K. of my own?! I love his relationship with Lara Jean’s family, especially with Kitty. He’s just so nice. I love him ❤ A big chunk of this book is just seeing Peter and Lara Jean being cute and couple-y and doing all the relationship things and it’s absolutely adorable.

Related image

The story is set during Lara Jean’s last year of high school, so we see them doing fun things like going for a senior trip, their graduation, prom – it’s wonderful. But this is one of the few books that didn’t skim over the not-so-fun parts of senior year – college. A big part of the story is about Lara Jean’s dilemma on where to go to college? and what will happen if she doesn’t get into the same college as Peter? should she follow Margot and enter college single? I really liked how everything panned out in the end.

Since I am also in my last year of school and will be going to college soon, this was so easy to relate to when all of Lara Jean’s friends were talking about how they’re all going to be in different places the next year. I’m not going to see most of the people in my class for a long time and that’s so weird because I see them everyday and they’re all a big part of my life.

Overall, a perfect end to a wonderful series. It’s so cute and I want to be friends with all of these characters. I gave this a 4.5 instead of a 5 because of the general lack of plot – don’t get me wrong, it’s adorable but not much happened. Still love it though! And I highly recommend this series to everyone!

“Kitty’s always saying how origin stories are important. At college, when people ask us how we met, how will we answer them? The short story is, we grew up together. But that’s more Josh’s and my story. High school sweethearts? That’s Peter and Gen’s story. So what’s ours, then? I suppose I’ll say it all started with a love letter.”


Let's chat (1)

Do you like this series? Are you going to read this last book? If you have, what did you think of it? Let’s discuss!

2 thoughts on “Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han // Will leave you craving cake and Peter Kavinsky

Leave a Reply

