Books · Lists · memes · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Fictional Mothers

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This is a Mother’s Day freebie so I’m going to share with you my ten favourite fictional mothers. Both from books and TV shows because I couldn’t think of enough mothers in the books I’ve read. They’re usually dead. What is with YA and dead/absent parents?!


Molly Weasley

One of the most underrated character in the HP series, in my opinion. She was so accepting of Harry and sent him Christmas gifts every year. She raised seven wonderful children. Her “NOT MY DAUGHTER, YOU BITCH!” is one of my favourite lines in the series. She’s such a wonderful woman. I love her so much!

Image result for molly weasley gif

Image result for molly weasley gif

Sally Jackson

What a freaking legend. She sacrificed so much for her son’s well being and Percy and her have such a sweet relationship. Love her!

Image result for sally jackson

Frannie Lancaster

Her unwavering spirit and optimistic personality was fantastic. She did so much for Hazel and isn’t appreciated enough. She took her and her boyfriend to a different country to meet her favourite author!

Image result for make some friends gif tfios

Melissa McCall

It’s been ages since I’ve seen Teen Wolf but I still love Melissa McCall. She is so sweet and wonderful and always there for her son. She accepted that he’s a wolf, which a lot of people wouldn’t xD

Image result for melissa scott mccall gif

Joyce Byers

She was such a great character in the show. One of my favourites, for sure. As a mother, she was so great. I loved that she never gave up hope of Will being alive and tried so hard to get him back. She was also so supportive of her other son and did such a great job as a single mother. ❤

Image result for winona ryder stranger things gif

Grace Shepherd

Image result for ruby red

Grace sacrificed so much to make sure Gwyneth would have a good life. She did everything in her power to help her out and was there for her always. 🙂

Olivia Baker

Image result for hannah baker mother

From the TV show version of 13RW. She was fantastic. She kept fighting for her daughter even after her death. She was a wonderful mother to Hannah and such a nice person. I so hope the Bakers win the court case!

Maryse Lightwood

Related image

Though she was quite strict with her kids, Maryse was a great mother to her children and so accepting of Jace as her own. I really respect her balancing being a shadowhunter and a mother!

Lorelai Gilmore

Image result for lorelai gilmore gif

I LOVE LORELAI SO MUCH ❤ One of my all time favourite fictional characters. She’s a fantastic mother and because she’s closer to Rory’s age than most mothers are to their kids, they have such a unique relationship. She’s so supportive of all of Rory’s goals and dreams and gives her great advice when she needs it!


I only came up with nine this week because there’s a surprising lack of mothers and to be honest, parents in general, in YA? Whyyyy. 😮

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Fictional Mothers

  1. YES TO ALL OF THESE! Molly Weasley is the ultimate fictional mother – she cares so deeply for her children and she adopts Harry as her own. I doubt that a list of fictional mothers could be complete without her. And yes Frannie Lancaster and Sally Jackson – they’re amazing as well. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Allyson: I haven’t seen all of these, but the ones I have I agree with (especially Molly Weasley). I really wish I could nominate Joyce Summers, Buffy’s mom, but she was always a little judgmental. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never seen Buffy actually! Didn’t air in India and I don’t think I’ll enjoy it as much if I watch it now 😛
      Molly Weasley is the best ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If you get the chance, you should give Buffy a try. It’s surprisingly clever and smart — I didn’t start watching it until I was over 40, so you might still like it. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t seen all of these, but I one hundred percent agree with the ones I have! I was really happy with how much they changed 13RW, and I loved all of the extra character development we got from all of the characters that were in the book. Giving her family a much bigger role in the show was such a good move. I also seriously love Melissa McCall! Especially after she found out what her son was. It took her a little bit to come to terms with it, but I love how supportive she is, to Scott and to all of his friends!

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah they did a really good job with making all the characters so real in the 13RW show. I loved that they spent so much time on everyone’s stories and the fact that the Baker family had such a big part was really great!
      Melissa was amazing! She was a bit apprehensive in the start but that’s understandable cos she found out her son’s a wolf and that obviously needs some time to get used to 😛

      Like

  4. Totally agree about Molly… Although shout-out also to Neville’s grandmother, though she isn’t exactly his mother but she’s a wonderful mother figure as well in my opinion! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes! She was fantastic 😀 Totally forgot about her. Though she was quite hard on him sometimes, she always had his best interests at heart. Thanks for mentioning that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

