Books · Lists · memes · Top Ten Tuesday

Mid 2017 Favourites!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is the top ten books I’ve read this year so far.

For this list, I have not counted the books I reread, just the ones I read this year for the first time. Also, I ordered these in the order in which I read them.


The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu – read January 28

16068341

What a fantastic story. I really loved the message of this book and I think it’s so important for teenagers to read and understand. I also enjoyed the four POV writing style, with each character having a unique voice. Loved this!

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga – read January 28

18336965

What a beautiful and devastating story. I’d heard a lot about it before but it was completely different to what I was expecting. I highly recommend you read this.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – read March 11

27883214

Mind = Blown. I adored this story. Reading this was an experience of it’s own and I enjoyed every second. Such a crazy whimsical story but so enchanting and charming in its own way.

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard – read March 22

30197201

Such an adorable story ❀ This was honestly so cute I just wanted to hug the book. And it was also extremely educational – I learnt a lot about mutism which was really cool. Also loved the emphasis on family and friendships.

Ten Birthdays by Kerry Wilkinson – read March 26

34533277

Another really sweet story. I really loved the style of story telling in this one. I was so invested in the characters’ lives even though it was such a short story. Loved seeing them grow up through the years. Highly recommend this one!

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – read March 28

19547856

Genuinely one of the best books I have ever read. It made me laugh, it made me cry. The story felt so real and the characters were so genuine. I’m so annoyed that I read this so long after it was published and can’t wait to read Becky Albertalli’s other books!

Geekerella by Ashley Poston – read April 15

30724132

SO CUTE SO CUTE SO CUTE. The best Cinderella retelling I have read (after Cinder). This story is the most adorable thing on the planet. It’s so nerdy and geeky as well, which is always fun to see in a story! Loved it.

One Italian Summer by Keris Stainton – read April 20

31322309

A deeply moving story about life and loss, but it also had a lot of really sweet moments of family bonding. I thought this was a lovely story, an atypical summer story but a very real one and definitely worth a read. Also, Italy.

This Savage Song by V E Schwab – read May 8

23299512

BRILLIANT. The world, the characters, the writing – all are so perfect. I’m so happy I finally read this and I’m so excited for Our Dark Duet!

One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus – read June 10

32571395

This was one of my most anticipated reads of the year because it sounded so interesting and I’m happy to say that it didn’t disappoint. I loved the writing of the story and all the characters and the general air of mystery throughout the book. I was definitely surprised by how things were resolved in the end but a little bit disappointed as well. Nonetheless, it did shock me so it was still great.


So those are my top ten books of the year so far! I honestly cannot pick just one favourite so narrowing down at the end of the year is going to be a hell of a task. I’ve read some really great books so far this year but as of right now I’ve been reading a lot of okay books, none that blew me away… hope the books I read some better books this year!

What was the best book you’ve read so far? (List more if you can’t choose just one!)

13 thoughts on “Mid 2017 Favourites!

  1. I loved Caraval! Except the stupidness of Scarlett lol. But I enjoyed the world and the idea of it being a game and blah blah. You can check my review on my blog πŸ™‚
    Also, TSS is on my TBR for September and I’m so excited to read it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Caraval had mixed reviews and I see why – the characters were a bit stupid at times xD But I really liked the world and the storyline.
      Simon was the sweetest read! I loved every second. The characters were wonderful ❀

      Like

  2. I heard so many good things about A Quiet Kind of Thunder, I’m hoping to read it someday, it sounds like such a great book. So glad it’s among your favorites! Also glad to see Simon vs. on here: such an adorable book ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its really wonderful – I’m sure you’ll love it especially since you like contemporary πŸ™‚ Simon was FANTASTIC! I’m so happy I finally read it πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved Simon vs. and A Quiet Kind of Thunder. Both of them are on my list of “best books of 2017 (so far)”. And I’m really excited to read One of Us Is Lying and My Heart and Other Black Holes. I’ve heard a lot of good things about both.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

