Books · Tags

I Dare You Book Tag

Hi! I’m currently at my grandparent’s place after four years. I’m having a wonderful time! Unfortunately I totally forgot to schedule anything for my blog (what’s new though xD) so I thought I’d just do a tag for now! They’re easy to write and fun to read. I’ve seen this tag on a lot of blogs. Since I’m oh-so-daring (lol) I want to do it too!
The rules are:

  • You must be honest
  • You can’t not answer a question
  • You have to tag at least four people

Which book has been on your shelves the longest?

Twins at St. Clare’s by Enid Blyton. It’s one of the first series that I got really into and I’ve had it forever.
What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

Current Read: Alex, Approximately

Last Read: When We Collided

Next Read: The Hate U Give 

What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. I didn’t hate this book but I definitely didn’t like it as much as everyone else. Also, When We Collided. Didn’t like that one at all. 
Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling. I love JKR and Harry Potter with all my heart and I say I’ll read this as well, because of how much I love Harry Potter, but I doubt that I’m ever going to.
Which book are you saving for “retirement”?

A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R R Martin. I’ve read the first 2 books and half of the third but there are so many characters and there’s so much happening that it’s hard to keep track! I want to marathon the series from start to finish some time when I’m free. 
Last page: read it first or wait till the end?

Wait till the end, always! I love being shocked. I did flip through the last few pages of Deathly Hallows after the unexpected ending of Half Blood Prince… Will never forgive myself for that! 
Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

I love reading acknowledgements! Especially when they’re sentimental or funny. 😀
Which book character would you switch places with?

Lara Jean Song from To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before because she has such an idyllic life. I love her family and I am already married to Peter in my head so that works out great! 😉
Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?
City of Glass by Cassandra Clare. I took it in my student exchange and though I barely read two chapters because we were so busy, I still associate it with the experience!
Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.

One of the Three Investigators books. My father borrowed it from a friend when he was young and never gave it back xD don’t know if that was interesting or not but it’s the only thing I can think of!
Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

I don’t think so, no. I’ve bought new copies of books I own to gift to friends and family but I haven’t given away my own copy. 
Which book has been with you to the most places?

Probably City of Glass because of the student exchange. It’s been to Paris, the Netherlands, Zurich and flown over a several countries. 
Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

Animal Farm by George Orwell. Absolutely loathed it in school because I thought it was so boring but now, I truly appreciate the satire. 
What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

I once found a love letter in a book that I bought second hand xD it was super cringey too! Wish I still had it so I could show you, but I threw it away 😛

Used or brand new?

I own more new books but I really don’t mind either as long as they’re both readable and don’t have pages missing. I love when used books are annotated or have notes / opinions of the previous owners! I think they’re so interesting to read. 
Have you ever read a Dan Brown?

Yes, I have read The Da Vinci Code and loved it! I want to read more by him for sure!
Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?

Can’t think of anything right now. The books are always better! 
A book that NEVER should have been published.

Fallen Crest High by Tijan. 
Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?

So many! The feasts in The Wrath and the Dawn made me drool, Lara Jean’s cooking always made me hungry and of course, I have to mention the feasts at Hogwarts!
Who is the person whose book advice you will always take?  

BookTubers / book bloggers! I’ve found so many great books because of this online booking community 😀
I’m not tagging anybody but if you want to do this, if you’re dating enough to xD, go ahead! 

 
 

6 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag

  1. I cannot wait for you to read THUG!! It’s fantastic. I didn’t like When We Collided either, and don’t even get me started on When Dimple Met Rishi. It was pathetic and offensive. As if all moms of 18-year old Indian girls are waiting to get them married???? Like, what the actual fuck? (I’m sorry my blood boils even thinking of it :P)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just finished THUG and it’s brilliant! So different from typical YA books and I hope to read more stories like it soon.
      When We Collided was a mess! Didn’t like the characters at all.
      Omg yes! From all the positive reviews, I was expecting a realistic portrayal of Indian parents and society but instead I found it very stereotypical. The idea behind it was nice but to us Indians, who know that parents like Dimple’s are not that common in this century, it was quite disappointing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

