Bookish Discussion · Books · Ramble

Problems in a few popular books

Hi! It’s been a while since I posted on here. I am alive and well, thanks for asking. I was at my grandmother’s place meeting cousins and other family members that I hadn’t seen in ages so I didn’t have much time to blog, but now I’m back.

Today I want to talk about, you guessed it, problems in a few popular books. Although I love them, I will not argue that they are flawless. I think something can be popular and well-liked while also being problematic. And I also think it’s okay to like books with problems. But, we shouldn’t gloss over the problems as we often do, which is why I am writing this post today. These are three popular books, all of which I adore, with a few problems.

Problems in Popular Books


-mild spoilers for The Mortal Instruments series, the Vampire Academy series and Anna and the French Kiss-

The Mortal Instruments – Incest

A lot of people are totally fine with incest and if you are, that’s cool but to me it just feels kind of gross. Although we gradually find out that Clary and Jace are not related and there is no actual incest in the story, whenever they were together in the second book doing anything romantic, I found it very uncomfortable. That kiss in the Seelie Court? I was praying for it to stop. :3

Vampire Academy – Slut Shaming

The term “blood whore” is used in such a negative way throughout the series by multiple characters. I understand that this was part of the slang of the world but the fact that Rose used it, and felt disgusted by them, even though she herself had given blood to both Lissa and Adrian, was such a hypocritical thing to do. It really bothered me that she was so against the “blood whore” lifestyle even after she lived in a dhampir commune. I love Rose, but this really annoyed me.

Anna and the French Kiss – Cheating

I’m sure most of the people who read this book loved it, as I did (though after watching this video, I might have changed my mind a bit…) but there is no masking the fact that Etienne cheated. Even before the kiss in the end, he was emotionally cheating on Ellie with Anna throughout the story. I don’t remember the proper explanation on why he didn’t just break up with Ellie to be with Anna but I’m sure it doesn’t justify playing with two girls’ feelings because he couldn’t make up his mind.


Let's chat (1)

I’d love to know if you agreed with me on any of these and if you can think of some other problematic popular books that you loved/hated, let me know!

Do you think it’s okay to like a book even though it has problems?

3 thoughts on “Problems in a few popular books

  1. There are problems with a lot of literature, but I think that’s what makes reading fiction important, because we can’t understand every issue in our society, and well-told stories can provide a lens for us to see through. There are so many characters that take actions I disagree with, and who I wouldn’t see eye-to-eye with.

    You’re right in that we should allow for open discussion on a book and the problems that we may have with a character. It’s not so much that we have to make every book a lesson, butI think what we take from characters is important.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You phrased it perfectly!
      There are several times that I disagree with characters but that doesn’t mean I like the book any less. It’s important to make characters flawed but it’s also important for us readers to acknowledge their flaws and not accept them without question.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

