Books · Lists

Books I Want To Read Before I Die

A few days ago, I saw this list on Facebook titles ‘Books You Should Read Before You Die’ and was surprised to see that of the 15 or so books, I had only read one! (The Kite Runner – it is beautiful) I thought I was a bookworm whaaat. Although I read a lot (if I do say so myself), I read, almost exclusively, young adult books. There’s nothing wrong with that, obviously, but there are a lot of non-YA books that I want to read that I never feel like reading because I just love YA. Also for some of them, I feel like I will probably understand and appreciate them more when I’m a little bit older

So this is basically a list of non-YA books that I want to read at some point in my life.

Happy Birthday,August Babies!

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

8045416

This is my English teacher’s favourite book but she told me to wait a couple years before I read it. (She also told me that in 2014 so it’s probably time I should read this)

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

14800317

I have never read anything by Charles Dickens (except the abridged Oliver Twist) and have no clue what this is about but my friends and I had an inside joke about the title which is why it’s the one Dickens book that I really want to read.

All of Shakespeare’s plays

Image result for all of shakespeare's plays

I have only read The Merchant of Venice for school and Romeo and Juliet because I thought it would be romantic. I really liked TMOV so I do want to read his other work someday.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

1885

I told my friend I haven’t read this one and she gave me the most disgusted look and said, “and you call yourself a reader.” This is one I will probably read soon because I downloaded it for free on Kindle. I must know what the big fuss is about Mr Darcy…

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

10210

Again, I have no clue what this is about but I have heard about Jane Eyre – I think there was a movie? I want to know what this story is about

The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien

Image result for lord of the rings trilogy books

I have tried reading this and just found it too boring. I’ve seen half of the first movie and I really enjoyed it. I’m hoping to one day read the whole trilogy.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams

13

I actually own a copy of this book but it’s huge and so intimidating. I know it’s hilarious and I do want to pick it up because I’m certain I’ll love it. It’ll happen. One day.

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

8460324

This is one I’ve heard mixed things about but I still want to read this because of the sheer number of people who have Great Gatsby themed parties…

The Catcher in the Rye by J D Salinger

5107

I’ve heard that this is a classic about angsty teenagers. I read YA which is all about angsty teenagers so it should be fun to read about how similar or different teenagers acted in the previous century.

1984 by George Orwell

5470

I have read Animal Farm for school. I despised it when it was in our course but now, I appreciate the satire a lot more. I have heard a lot about 1984 and how it was the original dystopian novel so I think it’ll make for an interesting read.


Let's chat (1)

What are some books you want to read before you die?

20 thoughts on “Books I Want To Read Before I Die

  1. I’ve watched a few adaptations of Pride and Prejudice and LOVED them. I’m now listening to the audiobook and really enjoying it as well. It’s a really snarky and fun read, and it’s really easy to get through, which isn’t the case with a lot of classics.
    I LOVE Animal Farm and really want to read 1984 as well at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never seen the adaptations either! But I’ve heard that the Keira Knightley version is supposed to be the best. Did you see that one? I’m glad you’re liking the audiobook! I recently downloaded the eBook on my Kindle because it was free so I’m looking forward to reading it!
      Same! 1984 sounds very interesting.

      Like

  2. Lord of the Rings is definitely on my list. This is one case where the movies ruined the books for me (the movies blew me away), but I want to read them and see if I can get into them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only seen half of the first movie and I really loved it! I might just end up watching the movies and never reading them because they seem like great movies.
      A friend who’s both read the books and watched the movie told me that the movies stay quite true to the book so even if you don’t end up reading the books, you’re not missing out on anything huge 🙂

      Like

  3. I’d recommend trying to watch Shakespeare’s plays rather than read them (and I say this as an English teacher who teaches his plays every year): I think you lose a lot of the enjoyment when you read them, as it’s not how Shakespeare ever intended them to be experienced. Catcher in the Rye is one of my favourite books; I’ve reread it recently and it is interesting to think about how it compares to modern YA.
    Also, if you’ve got a massive Hitchhiker’s, I’m guessing it’s the 5 book series in one edition, as each of the books is pretty short. So you can break it up easily. And also it is hilarious. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love to watch Shakespeare’s plays being performed – a lot of the times visualising the events really makes a difference. (And as you said, that’s how he intended for them to be experienced)
      Catcher in the Rye is one of the books I want to read the most because I’ve heard so much about it!
      Yes, I just checked and I own the Hitchhiker’s bind-up edition! I think I’ll read it part by part, as you suggested.
      Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  4. I’ve read most of these, and these are the books I definitely want to reread over the course of my life. Not that I was a fan of all these books (I even DNFed The Catcher in the Rye and The Great gatsby) but the thing with classics is that your enjoyment of a book can change with time and age 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Catcher in the Rye and The Great Gatsby are the only two classics which people seem to either love or hate. I think when and at what age one reads a book really impacts how they feel about the book which is why I want to wait a few years for most of these because I’m sure I’ll understand and appreciate them more when I’m a bit older. 🙂
      I hope you enjoy TCITR and TGG in your future reread of it!

      Like

    1. That’s great! Something I really love about classics s that there are so many editions of the same book 😛 Nowadays the covers are so pretty!
      Thank you 😀

      Like

  5. Great list. The Complete Works of Shakespeare is ambitious! I’d be tempted to pick one tragedy (say, Hamlet), one comedy (say, Twelfth Night or Much Ado About Nothing) and one history play (say, Henry V). To Kill a Mockingbird, Jane Eyre and The Great Gatsby are all favourites and highly recommended and Great Expectations is my favourite Dickens. Good luck with this challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Well maybe I won’t read ALL of Shakespeare’s work but I do want to read a lot of it, especially his more popular plays. They’re all books that get so much appreciation so I’m looking forward to reading them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

