Books · Lists · Miscellaneous

Books I’m Taking to College

I leave for college today! I’m excited about it but I’m also really nervous. I hope I can cope with all the studies there and I’m going to be living alone for the first time, which is kind of scary aaah.bookscollege

While I’d love to take my entire bookshelf with me for company, I don’t think I’ll have enough place for all my books in my dorm room πŸ˜› I’m taking my Kindle which has all my eBooks (and there are quite a few) but I also wanted to take a few physical books. I’m taking just 5 physical books because of space constraints and because I don’t want my bag to be overweight lol.

These are the five books I’m taking and why:

IMG_20170805_154920

 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

9361589

This is one of my favourite books so I just had to take it. The world is so rich and the writing is so beautiful. The story is very intricate and very interesting. If you haven’t read this yet, I highly recommend.

An Offer You Can’t Refuse by Jill Mansell

2596345

I’ve read this book so many times and it never fails to make me happy. This is the only book by Jill Mansell that I’ve read and it is fantastic. It is hilarious – the characters, the dialogue, the general plot of the story. I laugh so much every time I read it. I love this story so much that I want to keep this book for when I feel down or homesick in college.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994

I read this only last year and just once but it has already become one of my favourites. I do want to reread this sometime, which is why I’m taking it with me!

The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman

10146440

This is another story that always makes me smile. It’s very short and the story is so bizarre but it’s very sweet. It’s so easy to just fly through this so I think it’ll be good for a time when I feel down.

 

Happy Ever After by Adele Geras

43296

I haven’t read this book in a really long time but I saw it on my shelf and I was like, “I should reread this” so I’m taking it with me. This is a collection of three fairytale retellings set in the previous century. They’re all very dramatic but I remember liking them when I first read them.

The Tales of Beedle The Bard by JK Rowling

3950967

I know I said I’m taking five books by both this and The Tiny Wife are really thin so I think I can get away with six πŸ˜› I obviously can’t take my entire Harry Potter collection so I’m taking this. I haven’t read it in a while and it is part of the HP universe. A really good friend of mine gave this to me when I was moving schools so I thought it’d be appropriate since I’m moving from school to college now.

IMG_20170805_154551


Let's chat (1)

Do you have any tips for college/living alone? PLS TELL ME.

PS- This is the first time I’m uploading pictures of my books that I took to my blog and I must say that I really appreciate Bookstagrammers more now. Getting the books to stay up was an effort. I’m sticking to copy-pasting from Goodreads!

28 thoughts on “Books I’m Taking to College

    1. Thanks for the tip! I’ve got tons of pictures and a few letters from my friends to remind me of home.
      I’ll be sure to check your blog out soon!

      Like

  1. I’m leaving for uni in 3 weeks and I’m struggling so hard with deciding which books to bring πŸ™ˆ I want to bring all my favourite series but also a bunch of my to read books! Ugh decisions

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was actually quite excited about it until a few days before. Now that the day is here I’m terrified.
      Thanks for the tip! I have a tiny notebook where I make to-do lists but I was debating getting a new notebook to just use as a planner.

      Like

      1. It’s definitely a good idea! Oh and another tip is to do the dishes asap after cooking. Otherwise they just pile up and it gets annoying and gross! And keeping your place clean, because living in a dirty environment really brings your mood down. xx I hope you have a great time!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just got a really pretty one today haha! I don’t know if I’ll have any dishes because I have a meal plan this year but I’ll keep that in mind πŸ™‚ (though knowing how lazy I am the dishes will definitely pile up xD)

        Like

      3. Even if you have a meal plan it’s a pretty good idea to cook something every now and then. I don’t know if you know how to cook already, but a lot of people don’t when they go to college, so it’s a very useful skill to take away from your time there! It can also be really fun if you meet up to cook with friends x

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m not a very good cook haha. The most I can make are sandwiches and bake some cakes. πŸ˜› But I might look up some recipes / videos on YouTube and try not to blow the kitchen up! xD Thanks!

        Like

Leave a Reply

